Prueba Villafranca-Ordiziako Klasika - Race Overview

Daniel Teklehaimanot soloed to victory at Prueba Villafranca-Ordiziako Klasika. The Eritrean left his eight former break companions behind in the closing three kilometres of the one day Spanish classic in Basque Country. It is the first professional victory for Teklehaimanot in Europe. 

“I’m really happy. I’m so happy to get this victory for the team. Everybody worked really hard. We did a lot of work in the peloton and we always had a rider in the break. It was with the team that I get this win.” - Daniel Teklehaimanot

“Daniel and Wes [Wesley Sulzberger] were in the front together. They played off each other. Eventually toward the finish, the boys talked amongst themselves. They worked the tactics out. Daniel hit them first. The rest of the group had to chase him down. Wes was ready to take care of the small group sprint if it came back together.” - Sport Director Neil Stephens

Place Rider/Team Time
1 Daniel Teklehaimanot (Eri) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 3:55:18
2 Angel Madrazo (Spa) - Movistar 0:00:02
3 Davia Arroyo (Spa) - Caja Rural 0:00:08
4 Wesley Sulzberger (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
5 Jesus Herrada (Spa) - Movistar ST
6 Alessandro De Marchi (Ita) - Cannondale ST
7 Gorka Verdugo (Spa) - Euskaltel-Euskadi ST
8 Nicolas (Fra) - Cofidis Solutions Crédits ST
9 Marcos Garcia (Spa) - Caja Rural-Seguros RGA 0:00:15
10 Egoitz Garcia (Spa) - Cofidis Solutions Crédits 0:00:53
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
1 Daniel Teklehaimanot (Eri) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 3:55:18
4 Wesley Sulzberger (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
31 Fumiyuki Beppu (Jap) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:00:53
32 Michael Matthews (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST