Giro d'Italia
Stage 18: Valdaora to Santa Maria di Sala - Stage Details

It was a dramatic finish to stage 18 of the Giro d’Italia as the bunch sprinted for the victory only to be left agonisingly short as Damiano Cima (Nippo Vini Fantini) held on from the breakaway.

A game of cat and mouse, first from the peloton and then from the three-man breakaway, made for a hectic finale but after initial involvement in an attempt to make the breakaway earlier in the stage, Mitchelton-SCOTT settled in to protect leader Simon Yates ahead of two hard mountain stages to come.

Read the full report here.


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Damiano Cima (ITA) - Nippo-Vini Fantini-Faizane 4:56:04
2 Pascal Ackermann (GER) - Bora-Hansgrohe ST
3 Simone Consonni (ITA) - UAE Team Emirates ST
4 Florian Senechal (FRA) - Deceuninck-QuickStep ST
5 Ryan Gibbons (RSA) - Dimension Data ST
6 Manuel Belletti (ITA) - Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec ST
7 Davide Cimolai (ITA) - Israel Cycling Academy ST
8 Arnaud Demare (FRA) - Groupama-FDJ ST
9 Sean Bennett (USA) - EF Education First ST
10 Mirco Maestri (ITA) - Bardiani CSF ST
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
26 Jack Bauer (NZL) - Mitchelton-SCOTT ST
49 Simon Yates (GBR) - Mitchelton-SCOTT ST
61 Esteban Chaves (COL) - Mitchelton-SCOTT 0:00:09
68 Lucas Hamilton (AUS) - Mitchelton-SCOTT 0:00:09
76 Christopher Juul Jensen (DEN) - Mitchelton-SCOTT 0:00:09
107 Mikel Nieve (SPA) - Mitchelton-SCOTT 0:00:48
116 Luke Durbridge (AUS) - Mitchelton-SCOTT 0:01:15