Giro d'Italia
Stage 5: Frascati to Terracina - Stage Details

Relentless rain characterised the fifth stage of the Giro d’Italia, with organisers neutralising the final nine kilometre circuit due to dangerous conditions.

As Mitchelton-SCOTT, their leader Simon Yates and all the general classification contenders took their feet off the gas on the first passing of the finish line, Pascal Ackermann (Bora-Hansgrohe) won the sprint to take his second stage win of the race.

Read the full report.


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Pascal Ackermann (GER) - Bora-Hansgrohe 3:15:44
2 Fernando Gaviria (COL) - UAE Team Emirates ST
3 Arnaud Demare (FRA) - Groupama-FDJ ST
4 Caleb Ewan (AUS) - Lotto Soudal ST
5 Matteo Moschetti (ITA) - Trek-Segafredo ST
6 Ryan Gibbons (RSA) - Dimension Data ST
7 Paolo Simion (ITA) - Bardiani CSF ST
8 Jenthe Biermans (BEL) - Katusha-Alpecin ST
9 Giovanni Lonardi (ITA) - Nippo-Vini Fantini-Faizane ST
10 Manuel Belletti (ITA) - Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec ST
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
62 Esteban Chaves (COL) - Mitchelton-SCOTT ST
75 Simon Yates (GBR) - Mitchelton-SCOTT ST
77 Jack Bauer (NZL) - Mitchelton-SCOTT ST
101 Mikel Nieve (SPA) - Mitchelton-SCOTT ST
106 Brent Bookwalter (USA) - Mitchelton-SCOTT ST
117 Luke Durbridge (AUS) - Mitchelton-SCOTT ST
124 Christopher Juul Jensen (DEN) - Mitchelton-SCOTT ST
155 Lucas Hamilton (AUS) - Mitchelton-SCOTT 0:00:48