Record Bank E3 Harelbeke - Race Overview

Former Australian national time trial champion Luke Durbridge showed his classics credentials again today with another strong performance in Belgium at E3 Harelbeke, claiming his second fourth place of the week.

The 25-year-old ORICA-SCOTT rider read the race well and went with the key attack of Philippe Gilbert (Quick-Step Floors) after the Taaienberg before losing contact on the Oude Kwaremont and commencing a determined chase behind three leaders.

Eventually it was Greg Van Avermaet (BMC-Racing) who took the win ahead of Gilbert and Oliver Naesen (AG2R) with Durbridge the best of the rest and outsprinting Lukas Postlberger (Bora-Hansgrohe) to take fourth place.

“It was a great effort again from Luke today,” said Sport director Laurenzo Lapage. “Like in Dwars door Vlaanderen the other day he made the right moves at the key moments and was unfortunate to lose contact on the kwaremont before chasing hard against the bunch for the last 20kilometres.”

Read the full report here.

Place Rider/Team Time
1 Greg Van Avermaet (BEL) - BMC Racing Team 4:48:17
2 Philippe Gilbert (BEL) - Quick-Step Floors
3 Oliver Naesen (BEL) - AG2R La Mondiale
4 Luke Durbridge (AUS) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:00:40
5 Lukas Pöstlberger (AUT) - Bora-Hansgrohe 0:00:41
6 Michael Valgren Andersen (DEN) - Astana Pro Team 0:00:52
7 Sonny Colbrelli (ITA) - Bahrain-Merida
8 Tom Boonen (BEL) - Quick-Step Floors
9 Dylan Van Baarle (NED) - Cannondale-Drapac
10 Alberto Bettiol (ITA) - Cannondale-Drapac
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
4 Luke Durbridge (AUS) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:00:40
12 Jens Keukeleire (BEL) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:00:52
24 Magnus Cort Nielsen (DEN) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:02:12
37 Mathew Hayman (AUS) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:02:12
58 Christopher Juul Jensen (DEN) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:02:16