RideLondon Classic - Race Overview

Tour de France stage winner Michael Matthews produced another classy sprint today to finish third in the bunch sprint which concluded the 2016 edition of the Prudential RideLondon-Surrey Classic.

ORICA-BikeExchange worked hard together in the final part of the race to reel in the escapees and set Matthews up for sprint finish.

In the end it was Tom Boonen (Etixx-Quickstep) that proved to be the quickest, stealing the victory ahead of Mark Renshaw (Team Dimension-Data) and Matthews. 

"It was a bit of a chaotic race," explained sport director Matt Wilson at the finish. "Our guys rode amazingly, they started chasing around 60kilometres from the finish and it was touch and go whether it would be possible to catch them."

Read the full report here.

Place Rider/Team Time
1 Tom Boonen (BEL) - Etixx - Quick-Step 4:43:55
2 Mark Renshaw (AUS) - Dimension Data ST
3 Michael Matthews (AUS) - ORICA-BikeExchange ST
4 Jens Debusschere (BEL) - Lotto Soudal ST
5 Jaroslaw Marycz (POL) - CCC Sprandi Polkowice ST
6 Paolo Simion (ITA) - Bardiani CSF ST
7 Floris Gerfs (NED) - BMC Racing Team ST
8 Tobyn Horton (GBR) - Madison Genesis ST
9 Steele von Hoff (AUS) - ONE Pro Cycling ST
10 Mark McNally (GBR) - Wanty - Groupe Gobert ST
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
3 Michael Matthews (AUS) - ORICA-BikeExchange ST
61 Mathew Hayman (AUS) - ORICA-BikeExchange ST
83 Sam Bewley (NZL) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:04:35
84 Svein Tuft (CAN) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:04:35
85 Mitchell Docker (AUS) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:04:35
86 Damien Howson (AUS) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:04:35