Road World Championships - Race Overview

Team Time Trial:

Women: Amanda Spratt, Annette Edmondson, Emma Johansson, Loes Gunnewijk, Melissa Hoskins and Shara Gillow secured the bronze medal behind repeat champions Specialized-lululemon and Rabobank Liv/Giant

Men: Brett Lancaster, Daryl Impey, Jens Mouris, Luke Durbridge, Michael Hepburn and Svein Tuft missed out on a world title by .81" to defending champions Omega Pharma-QuickStep

Individual Time Trial:

Women: Emma Johansson was our top finisher in tenth place. Shara Gillow slotted into 12th place and Loes Gunnewijk was two spots further back in 14th. Ellen Van Dijk (NED) took the win ahead of Linda Villumsen (NZL) and Carmen Small (USA)

Men: Tony Martin (GER) won his third world title ahead of Bradly Wiggins (GBR) in second and Fabian Cancellara (SWI) in third. Daniel Teklehaimanot (ERI) was our top finisher in 54th place, 6'49 behind Martin. Sam Bewley (NZL) was another to spots back, 7' behind Martin in 56th place. Svein Tuft withdrew from the individual time trial citing fatigue after the second half of his season that included his first Tour de France and specific preparation for the team time trial.

U23: Damien Howson, our new signing for 2014, won the U23 ITT title by nearly one minute.

Road Race:

Women: Emma Johansson (SWE) went one better than the bronze she secured in 2010 with a silver medal in Florence. The Swede outkicked Rossella Ratto (ITA) for the second step of the podium after Marianne Vos (NED) soloed to back-to-back victories. Tiffany Cromwell (AUS) pieced together a smart, spirited race en route to ninth place. It is Cromwelll's first top ten finish in the road race at the World Championships.

Men: Simon Clarke was the last man standing for Australia and delivered a top ten result for the green and the gold with a strong, gutsy ride for seventh place. Rui Costa (Portugal) outsprinted Joaquim Rodriguez (Spain) for the world title while Alejandro Valverde (Spain) bested Vincenzo Nibali (Italy) for bronze.