Tour de Slovénie
Stage 1: Ljubljana - Ljubljana - Stage Details

In his first race appearance since the Giro d’Italia, Michael Matthews scored his 16thprofessional victory on the opening stage of the Tour de Slovénie. The Australian covered the 8.8 kilometre time trial course in Ljubljana in 10’05, six seconds faster than Kristijan Koren (Cannondale) in second place. Diego Ulissi (Lampre-Merida) rounded out the stage podium in third at ten seconds. It is the 24th victory for ORICA-GreenEDGE in the 2014 season and the team’s fourth win over three starts at the Slovenian stage race.  

The time trial course in Slovenia’s capitol city was a flat, fast out-and-back with a small loop near the start/finish. Technical skills offered little advantage nor did start time.  Matthews averaged 52.36 kilometres per hour over the straightforward course.

Matthews will line up for stage two in the race leader’s jersey. He will be one of two ORICA-GreenEDGE riders to swap out the team-issue Craft kit for a race-specific top. In 28th place in the time trial, Simon Yates earned the best young rider’s jersey following stage one.

“Judging by how I was feeling in the warm-up, I wasn’t too confident in the time trial today. In the end, I got there and did my best. Despite the feeling I had in the warm-up, it was enough to win. It’s nice to come off altitude and take a win straight away. It’s a good confidence boost going into the new few stages and the next big goals of the year.” - Michael Matthews

“The time trial is one of those stages where it’s really hard to control the result. We just wanted to go out there and give it our best shot today. Fortunately this year, like last year, we had the strongest guy on the day.” - Sport Director Matt Wilson


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Michael Matthews (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 10:05
2 Kristijan Koren (Slo) - Cannondale 0:06
3 Diego Ulissi (Ita) - Lampre-Merida 0:10
4 Tiago Machado (Por) - NetApp - Endura 0:11
5 Brett Lancaster (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:14
6 Pavel Brutt (Rus) - Katusha 0:15
7 Artem Ovechkin (Rus) - RusVelo 0:16
8 Matteo Rabottini (Ita) - Neri Sottoli ST
9 Andrea Fedi (Ita) - Neri Sottoli 0:18
10 Damiano Caruso (Ita) - Cannondale 0:20
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
1 Michael Matthews (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 10:05
5 Brett Lancaster (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:14
17 Mitch Docker (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:23
28 Simon Yates (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:26
34 Jens Mouris (Ned) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:29
37 Christian Meier (Can) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:30
41 Leigh Howard (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:33