Tour de Slovénie
Stage 2: Ribnica - Kocevje - Stage Details

Michael Matthews started the second stage of Tour de Slovénie in the yellow leader’s jersey after winning the opening time trial on Thursday evening. He was outspoken about his ambition to earn back-to-back wins and stay in yellow. Mission partially accomplished. Sonny Colbrelli (Bardiani – CSF) snagged stage glory while Matthews sprinted in for second. The result was good enough to allow Matthews to stay in yellow with two days down and two days still to race. 

The early action was a straightforward affair. Four riders formed the break of the day. ORICA-GreenEDGE immediately sent troops to the front to control. Whilst setting tempo on a technical descent, Mouris crashed out of the race. He escaped relatively unscathed from the incident given how hard he hit the ground.

With Mouris out, Brett Lancaster assumed a place at the head of the peloton. He worked with Howard to keep the breakaway in check into the base of the category one climb that was projected to cause major splits in the bunch.

Twenty riders made the elite selection that took place over the category one climb that came 30 kilometres ahead of the finish. Matthews and Simon Yates were amongst the leaders. The group swelled on the descent, with 35 riders contesting the sprint. 

Colbrelli edged out Matthews for win in the reduced bunch sprint. Grega Bole (Vini Fantini Nippo) rounded out the stage podium. Simon Yates finished on bunch time in 23rd place and remains in the best young rider jersey ahead of Simone Petilli (Area Zero Pro) and Jan Polanc (Lampre-Merida). 

“The group expanded before the finish. Bardiani had five riders – including one guy that they obviously thought was fast enough to win the stage – so they controlled the race on the final circuits. Because we only two riders, it was a bit lucky for us that they controlled things. Of course it wasn’t quite so lucky that they beat us.” - Sport Director Matt Wilson


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Sonny Colbrelli (Ita) - Bardiani-CSF 4:01:09
2 Michael Matthews (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
3 Grega Bole (Slo) - Vini-Fantini-Nippo ST
4 Damiano Caruso (Ita) - Cannondale ST
5 Manuele Mori (Ita) - Lampre-Merida ST
6 Enrico Battaglin (Ita) - Bardiani-CSF ST
7 Jarlinson Pantano Gomez (Col) - Colombia ST
8 Davide Villella (Ita) - Cannondale ST
9 Pavel Kochetkov (Rus) - Team Katusha ST
10 Paul Voss (Ger) - Team Netapp - Endura ST
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
2 Michael Matthews (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
22 Simon Yates (GBr) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
64 Christian Meier (Can) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:03:51
90 Mitch Docker (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
121 Leigh Howard (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:18:44
135 Brett Lancaster (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST