San Sebastian - Race Overview

Always a hard race, today’s Clasica Ciclista San Sebastian proved to be no different as explosive attacks split the race on the final climb with Simon Yates caught just the wrong side of the race-winning move.

ORICA-SCOTT rode a tactically astute race and contributed to the catch of the early breakaway at the right time, all the while looking after the Tour de France's best young rider within the peloton.

As the late attacks broke into the final 20kilometres it was Tour of Belgium winner Jens Keukeleire shepherding Yates onto the final climb in a good position. However when the attacks came, they were blistering.

First Mikel Landa (Team-Sky) split the favourites group and created a gap over the top of the climb, Landa was followed by teammate Michael Kwiatkowski and three others with Yates caught on the wrong side of the split.

Kwiatkowski went on to take the victory with Yates sprinting out of the chasing group, but finishing outside the top ten in 18th place.

“It was a really hard and tricky race today,” said sport director Neil Stephens. “We came into the race well prepared and highly motivated and we were content to let the early breakaway go, before we got involved with bringing things back together with Svein Tuft doing a great job on the front.”

Read the full report here.

Place Rider/Team Time
1 Michal Kwiatkowski (POL) - Team Sky 5:52:53
2 Tony Gallopin (FRA) - Lotto Soudal
3 Bauke Mollema (NED) - Trek-Segafredo
4 Tom Dumoulin (NED) - Team Sunweb
5 Mikel Landa (SPA) - Team Sky 0:00:02
6 Alberto Bettiol (ITA) - Cannondale-Drapac 0:00:28
7 Anthony Roux (FRA) - FDJ 0:00:38
8 Greg Van Avermaet (BEL) - BMC Racing Team
9 Tiesj Benoot (BEL) - Lotto Soudal
10 Nicolas Roche (IRL) - BMC Racing Team
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
18 Simon Yates (GBR) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:00:38
35 Jens Keukeleire (BEL) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:02:12
63 Roman Kreuziger (CZE) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:08:27
74 Simon Gerrans (AUS) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:11:48
79 Carlos Verona (SPA) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:11:48