Santos Tour Down Under
Stage 6: Adelaide - Stage Details

South African Daryl Impey wrapped up the 2015 Tour Down Under, taking home the sprint jersey and retaining his seventh position overall.

Heading into the final circuit stage in Adelaide, the entire ORICA-GreenEDGE outfit was committed to riding aggressively, as they have all week, and gathering valuable sprint seconds in attempt to move up in the general classification.

Their efforts were shown at the front of the peloton ahead of the first sprint, pulling in an early breakaway and rewarded by Impey who claimed the first spoils.

Again working hard at the front to set their leader up for the finish, Impey managed a fifth position on the stage and eventually finished 35seconds behind overall winner Rohan Dennis (BMC Racing).

“It was a little hectic in the final today,” Impey said. “We got it together but with Durbo (Luke Durbridge) crashing out we missed that final guy in the finish and we ran a little bit short at the end.”

Read the final report here.


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Wouter Wippert (NED) - Drapac Professional Cycling 1:56:09
2 Heinrich Haussler (AUS) - IAM Cycling ST
3 Boris Vallée (BEL) - Lotto Soudal ST
4 Pavel Brutt (RUS) - Tinkoff-Saxo ST
5 Daryl Impey (RSA) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
6 Niccolò Bonifazio (ITA) - Lampre-Merida ST
7 Steele von Hoff (AUS) - UniSA-Australia ST
8 Ruslan Tleubayev (KAZ) - Astana Pro Team ST
9 Rudiger Selig (GER) - Team Katusha ST
10 Sébastien Chavanel (FRA) - ST
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
5 Daryl Impey (RSA) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
44 Mathew Hayman (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:00:09
48 Michael Hepburn (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:00:29
50 Sam Bewley (NZL) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:00:36
52 Cameron Meyer (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:00:45
115 Luke Durbridge (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:05:47
121 Simon Clarke (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:05:47