Santos Tour Down Under
Stage 5: McLaren Vale to Willunga Hill - Stage Details

Former Australian champion Simon Gerrans is one step closer to a record breaking fourth Santos Tour Down Under victory, retaining his overall lead with one more stage to go.

Gerrans started the penultimate day of racing with a 14second advantage to Jay McCarthy (Tinkoff) and 26seconds to Rohan Dennis (BMC Racing).

The 35-year-old finished eighth on the stage, 17seconds behind Richie Porte (BMC Racing) who won his third consecutive Willunga stage to move into second overall, nine seconds behind ORICA-GreenEDGE’s Gerrans.

“One stage to go and anything can happen but I tell you what, I’d prefer to go into that stage in front rather than behind,” Gerrans said of tomorrow's race finale.

Read the full report here.


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Richie Porte (AUS) - BMC Racing Team 3:34:16
2 Sergio Henao (COL) - Team Sky 0:00:06
3 Michael Woods (CAN) - Cannondale 0:00:09
4 Diego Ulissi (ITA) - Lampre–Merida 0:00:17
5 Rafael Valls Ferri (ESP) - Lotto Soudal 0:00:17
6 Ruben Fernandez Andujar (ESP) - Team Movistar 0:00:17
7 Domenico Pozzovivo (ITA) - AG2R La Mondiale 0:00:17
8 Simon Gerrans (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:00:17
9 Jarlinson Pantano (COL) - IAM Cycling 0:00:17
10 Patrick Bevin (NZL) - Cannondale 0:00:17
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
8 Simon Gerrans (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:00:17
33 Daryl Impey (RSA) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:00:54
65 Michael Albasini (SUI) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:03:49
66 Luke Durbridge (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:03:49
95 Mathew Hayman (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:07:52
133 Caleb Ewan (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:17:06
134 Michael Hepburn (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:17:38