Santos Tour Down Under
Stage 6: Adelaide to Adelaide - Stage Details

ORICA-GreenEDGE has concluded the 2016 Santos Tour Down Under in spectacular style, taking out the final stage and overall title in Adelaide today.

21-year-old sprinter Caleb Ewan delivered for the third time this week by winning the final stage ahead of Mark Renshaw (Team Dimension Data) and Giacomo Nizzolo (Trek-Segafredo).

Meanwhile, 35-year-old former Australian champion Simon Gerrans safely defended his overall lead to become the first rider in history to win four Santos Tour Down Under titles.

“This one feels just as good as the first one did,” Gerrans said. “I had to keep my wits about me, I was fully concentrated there for the full 90km but it certainly feels good now that it’s over and done with and I’ve secured the win.”

Read the full report here.


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Caleb Ewan (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 1:55:02
2 Mark Renshaw (AUS) - Team Dimension Data ST
3 Giacomo Nizzolo (ITA) - Trek–Segafredo ST
4 Adam Blythe (GBR) - Tinkoff ST
5 Alexey Tsatevitch (RUS) - Team Katusha ST
6 Ben Swift (GBR) - Team Sky ST
7 Marko Kump (SLO) - Lampre–Merida ST
8 Davide Martinelli (ITA) - Etixx–Quick-Step ST
9 Leigh Howard (AUS) - IAM Cycling ST
10 Wouter Wippert (NED) - Cannondale ST
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
1 Caleb Ewan (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 1:55:02
11 Simon Gerrans (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
44 Daryl Impey (RSA) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
73 Michael Albasini (SUI) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
86 Mathew Hayman (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:00:19
117 Michael Hepburn (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:01:14
118 Luke Durbridge (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:01:14