Santos Tour Down Under
Stage 1: Prospect - Lobethal - Stage Details

Santos Tour Down Under Defending Champion Simon Gerrans snagged three bonus seconds during the intermediate sprints on stage one of the Australian Tour. Having won the 2012 edition of the race tied on time with Alejandro Valverde (Movistar), the time bonuses Gerrans secured today could become crucial as the general classification battle unfolds over the six day race. 

One second means a lot in Adelaide. To get three already is really good in that respect. We planned from the start to go after the bonus seconds. Today was the best day to do it. Once the GC is more set up, as it will be after tomorrow, anyone on the overall will be marked during intermediate sprints.” - Sport Director Matt Wilson


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Andre Greipel (Ger) - Lotto Belisol 3:35:24
2 Arnaud Demare (Fra) - FDJ ST
3 Mark Renshaw (Aus) - Blanco ST
4 Simone Ponzi (Ita) - Astana ST
5 Steele Von Hoff (Aus) - Garmin Sharp ST
6 Roberto Ferrari (Ita) - Lampre-Merida ST
7 Daniele Pietropolli (Ita) - Lampre-Merida ST
8 Edvald Boasson Hagen (Nor) - Sky Procycling ST
9 Jose Joaquin Rojas Gil (Spa) - Movistar ST
10 Zakkary Dempster (Aus) - UNI SA - Australia ST
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
16 Daryl Impey (RSA) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
28 Simon Clarke (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
33 Simon Gerrans (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
57 Stuart O'Grady (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
93 Matthew Harley Goss (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:00:20
100 Jens Mouris (Ned) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:01:17
112 Luke Durbridge (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:01:19