Santos Women's Tour - Race Overview

2017 Australian champion Katrin Garfoot will debut her green and gold national champion’s jersey whilst wearing the number one bib at the Santos Women’s Tour starting on Saturday.

Garfoot claimed the time trial and road race national titles in Buninyong last week and will now return to racing to defend her title at the four-day race in Adelaide. 

The 35-year-old Queenslander is joined by Amanda Spratt, who she narrowly beat for the Australian championship, and Jessica Allen who won the national criterium championship.

Recently crowned under-23 time trial and road race champion Alex Manly, 22-year-old Jenelle Crooks and Dutch star Annemiek van Vleuten complete the line up.

ORICA-SCOTT will start the race with overall ambitions, hoping to continue the streak that has seen them win the past three editions. 

“We have a genuine shot at the overall,” sport director Gene Bates said. “Kat won last year and she is in even better form this year. Amanda Spratt is also there so we have two genuine contenders for the Tour.”

Read the full preview here.

General Classification

Place Rider/Team Time
1 Amanda Spratt (AUS) - ORICA-SCOTT 6:59:36
2 Janneke Ensing (NED) - Ale Cipollini 0:00:25
3 A (NED) - Cylance Pro Cycling 0:00:40
4 Lauren Kitchen (AUS) - NSWIS Sydney Uni 0:00:50
5 Alexis Ryan (USA) - Canyon SRAM Racing 0:00:51
6 Peta Mullens (AUS) - Hagens Berman / Supermint 0:00:58
7 Katrin Garfoot (AUS) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:00:59
8 Ruth Winder (USA) - UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling Team
9 Alice Barnes (GBR) - Drops Cycling 0:01:01
10 Susanna Zorzi (ITA) - Drops Cycling
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
1 Amanda Spratt (AUS) - ORICA-SCOTT 6:59:36
7 Katrin Garfoot (AUS) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:00:59
21 Janelle Crooks (Aus) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:01:07
28 Annemiek Van Vleuten (Ned) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:02:05
72 Alexandra Manly (Aus) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:07:50
74 Jessica Allen (Aus) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:08:13