Stage 2: San Vincenzo - Cascina - Stage Details

With help from his ORICA-GreenEDGE teammates, Ivan Santaromita finished safely in the bunch on stage two of Tirreno-Adriatico. The Italian Road National Champion is aiming for a strong showing on the overall classification in his home country’s early season stage race. Although he finished outside the top ten, Mark Cavendish (Omega Pharma – Quick-Step) retains the blue leader’s jersey following the field sprint in Cascina. Matteo Pelucchi (IAM) was the surprise winner of the scrappy sprint, beating Arnaud Demare (FDJ.fr) and André Greipel (Lotto-Belisol) to the line. 

As the sprint trains fought for control in the final circuit lap, another crash took out pre-race favourite Marcel Kittel (Giant Shimano). The German had no chance of regaining contact with the bunch and watched the possibility of a stage win ride away from him up the road. Following the crash, Lotto Belisol, FDJ.fr, Lampre-Merida, Tinkoff-Saxo and Cannondale massed toward the front of the bunch. Although Pelucchi lacked team support in the final kilometre and was late to open the sprint, none of the big name sprinters could match the acceleration he unleashed in his dash for the line. 

“For us today was about staying out of trouble. It was a beautiful day – really warm and not much wind. The first break attempt was the right mix of riders, and once the break went, the race was pretty well controlled by the sprinters’ teams.” - Sport Director Matt White



Place Rider/Team Time
1 Matteo Pelucchi (Ita) - IAM Cycling 3:56:12
2 Arnaud Demare (Fra) - FDJ.fr ST
3 André Greipel (Ger) - Lotto Belisol ST
4 Sam Bennett (Irl) - Team NetApp - Endura ST
5 Peter Sagan (Svk) - Cannondale ST
6 Davide Appollonio (Ita) - AG2R La Mondiale ST
7 Filippo Fortin (Ita) - Bardiani-CSF ST
8 Sacha Modolo (Ita) - Lampre-Merida ST
9 Tony Hurel (Fra) - Team Europcar ST
10 Kristian Sbaragli (Ita) - MTN - Qhubeka ST
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
24 Simon Clarke (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
62 Daryl Impey (RSA) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
63 Svein Tuft (Can) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
64 Ivan Santaromita (Ita) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
97 Michael Hepburn (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
99 Luke Durbridge (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
110 Cameron Meyer (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST