Stage 5: Amatrice - Guardiagrele - Stage Details

Cameron Meyer and Ivan Santaromita finished with the remnants of the Tirreno Adriatico yellow jersey group atop the vicious Muro di Guardiagrele. Santaromita was the top finisher for ORICA-GreenEDGE in 33rd place, 4’45 behind stage winner Alberto Contador (Tinkoff-Saxo). Meyer finished a handful of seconds ahead of overnight leader Michael Kwiatkowski (Omega Pharma – Quick-Step), crossing the line at 5’55.

Contador managed to put every other overall contender under pressure en route to his stage five victory. The dominant performance saw Contador assume the race lead by a healthy 2’08 over Quintana. Kwiatkowski tumbled out of the top ten overall.

"It was every man for himself up the Muro di Guardiagrele. There were no groups, just riders struggling their way to the top in their own personal hell." - Sport Director Matt White


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Alberto Contador Velasco (Spa) - Tinkoff-Saxo 4:54:42
2 Simon Geschke (Ger) - Team Giant-Shimano 0:00:06
3 Benjamin King (USA) - Garmin Sharp 0:00:45
4 Adam Hansen (Aus) - Lotto Belisol 0:01:01
5 Jean-Christophe Peraud (Fra) - AG2R La Mondiale 0:01:26
6 Giampaolo Caruso (Ita) - Team Katusha 0:01:39
7 Roman Kreuziger (Cze) - Tinkoff-Saxo 0:01:42
8 Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita) - AG2R La Mondiale ST
9 Julian David Arredondo Moreno (Col) - Trek Factory Racing ST
10 Rinaldo Nocentini (Ita) - AG2R La Mondiale ST
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
33 Ivan Santaromita (Ita) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:04:45
36 Cameron Meyer (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:05:55
58 Daryl Impey (RSA) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:10:38
105 Luke Durbridge (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:25:35
108 Simon Clarke (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
146 Svein Tuft (Can) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:26:32
155 Jens Mouris (Ned) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:27:26
167 Michael Hepburn (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:28:56