Tour de France
Stage 2: Utrecht to Zelande - Stage Details

Wind and rain formed a chaotic recipe for the first road stage of the 2015 Tour de France.

With this in mind, and as a stage not suited to the team’s characteristics, ORICA-GreenEDGE put an emphasis on getting through the stage unscathed. Objective achieved.

2014 Liege-Bastogne-Liege champion Simon Gerrans was the team’s highest finisher, crossing the finish line in Zelande in the first main bunch, one-minute 28seconds behind Andre Greipel (Lotto-Soudal) who won the sprint from a select group.

“Today was always going to be very chaotic and it didn’t disappoint,” sport director Matt White said.  “It could have been a lot worse conditions, but there was a pretty stressful hour of gale-force wind and torrential rain.”

Read the full report here.


Place Rider/Team Time
1 André Greipel (GER) - Lotto Soudal 3:29:03
2 Peter Sagan (SVK) - Tinkoff-Saxo ST
3 Fabian Cancellara (SWI) - Trek Factory Racing ST
4 Mark Cavendish (GBR) - Etixx - Quick-Step ST
5 Daniel Oss (ITA) - BMC Racing Team ST
6 Greg Van Avermaet (BEL) - BMC Racing Team ST
7 Christopher Froome (GBR) - Team Sky ST
8 Tom Dumoulin (NED) - Team Giant-Alpecin ST
9 Tony Martin (GER) - Etixx - Quick-Step ST
10 Warren Barguil (FRA) - Team Giant-Alpecin ST
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
69 Simon Gerrans (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:01:28
117 Daryl Impey (RSA) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:05:04
118 Luke Durbridge (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:05:04
145 Adam Yates (GBR) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:05:04
168 Svein Tuft (CAN) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:05:04
177 Pieter Weening (NED) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:05:04
178 Michael Albasini (SWI) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:05:04
180 Michael Matthews (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:05:04
181 Simon Yates (GBR) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:05:04