Tour de France
Stage 11: Carcassonne to Montpellier - Stage Details

Adam Yates leader of the Tour de France best young rider category finished in 15thplace for ORICA-BikeExchange on stage 11 today, holding on to his white jersey and second place overall.

Crashes peppered the start of a dangerous, tense and windy stage that saw the field split on many occasions before finally coming back together in the last 30kilometres with Yates up near the front third of the peloton.

With ten kilometres to go a stage winning by move sprint leader Peter Sagan (Tinkoff) was followed by race leader Christopher Froome (Team-Sky) with the pair eventually duking it out in the sprint won by Sagan.

Yates reacted well and was part of the first group of chasers who contested the top ten, crossing the line in 15th place, six seconds behind the stage winner and holding onto second on the general classification.

White jersey holder Yates is 28seconds behind Froome ahead of tomorrow’s tough stage 12, which tackles the monstrous Mont Ventoux, arguably the most brutal summit finish in cycling.

Sport director Matt White was happy for the team to come through the stage unscathed and in one-piece ahead of stage 12.

“It was a very nerve-racking stage today,” said White. “There was a lot of tension in the peloton because of the strong wind and the road furniture which caused a few crashes in the early part of the race.”

Read the full report here.


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Peter Sagan (SVK) - Tinkoff Team 3:26:23
2 Christopher Froome (GBR) - Team Sky ST
3 Maciej Bodnar (POL) - Tinkoff Team ST
4 Alexander Kristoff (NOR) - Team Katusha 0:00:06
5 Christophe Laporte (FRA) - Cofidis, Solutions Credits 0:00:06
6 Jasper Stuyven (BEL) - Trek-Segafredo 0:00:06
7 Edvald Boasson Hagen (NOR) - Dimension Data 0:00:06
8 André Greipel (GER) - Lotto Soudal 0:00:06
9 Sondre Holst Enger (NOR) - IAM Cycling 0:00:06
10 Oliver Naesen (BEL) - IAM Cycling 0:00:06
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
15 Adam Yates (GBr) - ORICA-BikeExchange
18 Simon Gerrans (AUS) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:00:06
63 Luke Durbridge (AUS) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:00:50
135 Michael Albasini (SWI) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:03:50
147 Mathew Hayman (AUS) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:03:50
148 Christopher Juul Jensen (DEN) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:03:50
160 Ruben Plaza (SPA) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:05:39
166 Daryl Impey (RSA) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:05:39
168 Michael Matthews (AUS) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:05:39