Tour de France
Stage 15: Bourg-en-Bresse to Culoz - Stage Details

White jersey Adam Yates rode beyond his years for ORICA-BikeExchange on a relentless stage 15 of the Tour de France today, finishing in 21st place on the day and retaining third on the general classification.

The brutal 160km mountain stage was won by Jarlinson Panatano (IAM-Cycling) after sprinting to victory from the day’s breakaway group.

Somewhat surprisingly, the fireworks in the battle for the general classification never happened and 23-year-old Yates matched every move within the favourites group as the top ten all crossed the line together.

Spanish all-rounder Ruben Plaza was one of the protagonists of the day’s early breakaway and held his own over the climbs before dropping back to the Yates group for the approach to the finale.

Sport director Matt White was content with how the stage unfolded for ORICA-BikeExchange.

“We wanted to get someone in the breakaway today,” said White. “It is always a good idea to have somebody up there and Ruben (Plaza) had good legs and did well before coming back to support Adam (Yates) in the final kilometres.”

Read the full report here.


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Jarlinson Pantano (COL) - IAM Cycling 4:24:49
2 Rafal Majka (POL) - Tinkoff Team ST
3 Alexis Vuillermoz (FRA) - AG2R La Mondiale 0:00:06
4 Sébastien Reichenbach (SWI) - FDJ 0:00:06
5 Julian Alaphilippe (FRA) - Etixx - Quick-Step 0:00:22
6 Serge Pauwels (BEL) - Dimension Data 0:00:25
7 Pierre Rolland (FRA) - Cannondale-Drapac 0:00:25
8 Ilnur Zakarin (RUS) - Team Katusha 0:01:30
9 Daniel Navarro (SPA) - Cofidis, Solutions Credits 0:01:30
10 Tom Jelte Slagter (NED) - Cannondale-Drapac 0:02:08
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
21 Adam Yates (GBR) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:03:07
41 Ruben Plaza (SPA) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:12:04
86 Daryl Impey (RSA) - ORICA-BikeExchange
100 Christopher Juul Jensen (DEN) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:21:53
130 Michael Matthews (AUS) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:28:07
137 Luke Durbridge (AUS) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:28:07
139 Mathew Hayman (AUS) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:28:07
157 Michael Albasini (SWI) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:29:10