Tour de France
Stage 17: Berne to Finhaut-Emosson - Stage Details

Tour de France white jersey Adam Yates fought brilliantly on the tough summit finish of stage 17 today, gaining some time on his rivals and retaining third place on the general classification for ORICA-BikeExchange.

In the shadow of the highest mountain in the Alps, the awesome Mont Blanc, it was Ilnur Zakarin (Katusha) who took the stage victory after a winning move from the breakaway.

Meanwhile, a few minutes down the road an attack by Richie Porte (BMC) split the favourites group apart with race leader Christopher Froome (Team-Sky) following and 23-year-old Yates reacting brilliantly to give chase.

Yates pushed on behind Porte and Froome and distanced the other chasers who struggled to maintain the tempo of the ORICA-BikeExchange rider.

Crossing the line eight seconds behind Froome in 12th place on the stage it was another impressive performance by the young Briton who gained time on second place Bauke Mollema (Trek-Segafredo) and fourth place Nairo Quintana (Movistar).

“I am pretty satisfied with my performance today,” said Yates at the finish. “I managed to gain some time on Mollema and if a chance presents itself to take some seconds then I am going to try and do that.”

Read the full report here.


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Ilnur Zakarin (RUS) - Team Katusha 4:36:33
2 Jarlinson Pantano (COL) - IAM Cycling 0:00:55
3 Rafal Majka (POL) - Tinkoff Team 0:01:26
4 Kristijan Durasek (CRO) - Lampre - Merida 0:01:32
5 Brice Feillu (FRA) - Fortuneo - Vital Concept 0:02:33
6 Thomas Voeckler (FRA) - Direct Energie 0:02:46
7 Domenico Pozzovivo (ITA) - AG2R La Mondiale 0:02:50
8 Stef Clement (NED) - IAM Cycling 0:02:57
9 Steve Morabito (SWI) - FDJ 0:04:38
10 Richie Porte (AUS) - BMC Racing Team 0:07:59
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
12 Adam Yates (GBR) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:08:07
59 Daryl Impey (RSA) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:26:15
97 Michael Albasini (SWI) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:30:26
103 Christopher Juul Jensen (DEN) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:30:26
122 Mathew Hayman (AUS) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:36:56
123 Michael Matthews (AUS) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:36:56
124 Luke Durbridge (AUS) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:36:56
147 Ruben Plaza (SPA) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:39:51