Tour de France
Stage 19: Albertville to Saint-Gervais Mont Blanc - Stage Details

A wet and difficult stage 19 of the Tour de France saw white jersey Adam Yates cross the line in 13th place for ORICA-BikeExchange, moving to fourth on the general classification after fighting hard through an attack and crash-marred finale.

Yates still leads the best young rider category after giving absolutely everything as the attacks flew on the tough summit finish of today’s 146kilometre mountain stage that saw an almost complete shake up of the overall top ten.

Needing a bike change on the approach to the last two climbs Yates was paced back to the favourites group by ORICA-BikeExchange teammates before South African Daryl Impey took up the tempo at the front and stayed with Yates until ten kilometres to go.

Romain Bardet (AG2R) won the stage from a late attack and moved into second place on the general classfication with Nairo Quintana (Movistar) eleven seconds ahead of Yates in third ahead of tomorrow's stage 20.

“I lost some time today but it was definitely the hardest day of the last three weeks,” said Yates. “I think it was still a good performance, we are eleven seconds off third place and if an opportunity comes along to reclaim those seconds and get on the podium then certainly I will try to take it.”

Read the full report here.


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Romain Bardet (FRA) - AG2R La Mondiale 4:14:08
2 Joaquim Rodriguez (SPA) - Team Katusha 0:00:23
3 Alejandro Valverde (SPA) - Movistar Team 0:00:23
4 Louis Meintjes (RSA) - Lampre - Merida 0:00:23
5 Nairo Quintana (COL) - Movistar Team 0:00:26
6 Fabio Aru (ITA) - Astana Pro Team 0:00:28
7 Daniel Martin (IRL) - Etixx - Quick-Step 0:00:28
8 Wouter Poels (NED) - Team Sky 0:00:36
9 Christopher Froome (GBR) - Team Sky 0:00:36
10 Richie Porte (AUS) - BMC Racing Team 0:00:53
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
13 Adam Yates (GBR) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:00:56
35 Daryl Impey (RSA) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:09:03
61 Michael Matthews (AUS) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:18:32
75 Ruben Plaza (SPA) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:21:15
125 Michael Albasini (SWI) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:31:28
129 Mathew Hayman (AUS) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:31:28
138 Luke Durbridge (AUS) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:31:28
153 Christopher Juul Jensen (DEN) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:31:28