Tour de France
Stage 20: Megève to Morzine-Avoriaz - Stage Details

Adam Yates is set to become the first Briton to wear the white jersey of the Tour de France and take it all the way to Paris after another strong performance for ORICA-BikeExchange on stage 20 saw the 23-year-old seal fourth place overall.

Having all but secured his victory in the best young rider category, Yates fought all the way to the line for 13th place and an incredible fourth on the general classification that will give the Australian team its best overall result at the Tour.

The second wet and stormy mountain stage in succession saw a large breakaway form on the first climb before Jon Izaguirre (Movistar) made the winning move to take the stage victory after a treacherous descent to the finish in Morzine.

“Yesterday wasn’t my best day and we ended up just missing out on the podium, but of course I’m super happy,” said Yates at the stage finish. “Barring any bad luck on tomorrow's last stage to Paris then these should be the final results and I’m very satisfied with what we’ve achieved.”

Read the full report here.


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Ion Izagirre (SPA) - Movistar Team 4:06:45
2 Jarlinson Pantano (COL) - IAM Cycling 0:00:19
3 Vincenzo Nibali (ITA) - Astana Pro Team 0:00:42
4 Julian Alaphilippe (FRA) - Etixx - Quick-Step 0:00:49
5 Rui Costa (POR) - Lampre - Merida 0:01:43
6 Roman Kreuziger (CZE) - Tinkoff Team 0:01:44
7 Wilco Kelderman (NED) - Team LottoNl-Jumbo 0:00:49
8 Joaquim Rodriguez (SPA) - Team Katusha 0:03:24
9 Daniel Martin (IRL) - Etixx - Quick-Step 0:04:12
10 Romain Bardet (FRA) - AG2R La Mondiale 0:04:12
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
13 Adam Yates (GBR) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:04:14
50 Daryl Impey (RSA) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:14:33
81 Christopher Juul Jensen (DEN) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:22:09
98 Ruben Plaza (SPA) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:29:34
103 Michael Matthews (AUS) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:29:52
143 Mathew Hayman (AUS) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:34:08
150 Luke Durbridge (AUS) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:34:08
168 Michael Albasini (SWI) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:34:34