Tour de France
Stage 21: Chantilly to Paris Champs-Élysées - Stage Details

In just his second attempt at the world's biggest race, Adam Yates today became the first British rider to win the best young rider award at the Tour de France.

The 23-year old rode an impressive race to finish in fourth place overall, well above expectation giving ORICA-BikeExchange its best ever overall result at the Tour.

Three weeks of racing saw the Australian outfit top the team classification over the first few stages before Yates won the white jersey on stage seven and held it all the way to the finish in Paris.

A series of impressive performances over several tough mountain stages saw Yates move into second overall before slipping to fourth over the last two days of racing only 21seconds behind Nairo Quintana (Movistar) in third.

Christopher Froome (Team-Sky) won the race by over four minutes with Romain Bardet (AG2R-La Mondiale) taking second and completing the podium.

“We came here not really riding for the overall,” said a smiling Yates in Paris. “It just kind of happened and the whole team have been incredible in their support, all the riders and the staff who have worked so hard everyday.”

Read the full report here.


Place Rider/Team Time
1 André Greipel (GER) - Lotto Soudal 2:43:08
2 Peter Sagan (SVK) - Tinkoff Team ST
3 Alexander Kristoff (NOR) - Team Katusha ST
4 Edvald Boasson Hagen (NOR) - Dimension Data ST
5 Michael Matthews (AUS) - ORICA-BikeExchange ST
6 Jasper Stuyven (BEL) - Trek-Segafredo ST
7 Ramunas Navardauskas (LTU) - Cannondale-Drapac ST
8 Christophe Laporte (FRA) - Cofidis, Solutions Credits ST
9 Sam Bennett (IRL) - Bora-Argon 18 ST
10 Reinardt Janse Van Rensburg (RSA) - Dimension Data ST
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
5 Michael Matthews (AUS) - ORICA-BikeExchange ST
34 Adam Yates (GBR) - ORICA-BikeExchange ST
45 Michael Albasini (SWI) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:00:25
110 Ruben Plaza (SPA) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:01:00
111 Daryl Impey (RSA) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:01:00
114 Christopher Juul Jensen (DEN) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:01:00
115 Luke Durbridge (AUS) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:01:00
165 Mathew Hayman (AUS) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:03:34