Tour de France
Stage 4: Saumur to Limoges - Stage Details

Stage four of the Tour de France climaxed in another hectic sprint today with Simon Gerrans finishing in 10th place for ORICA-BikeExchange and the Australian squad retaining their lead of the team classification.

2014 Liege-Bastogne-Liege winner Gerrans was in a good position for the finale alongside teammate Michael Matthews after excellent work from Daryl Impey and Michael Albasini in the battle for position.

The sprint was crowded, chaotic and very fast with ORICA-BikeExchange going for a two-pronged attack with Gerrans and Matthews attempting to break through against the pure sprinters.

Sport director Matt White explained the team’s tactics for the finale and the difficulties of competing against the out and out sprinters.

“We did a recon of the finish in the morning and it wasn’t as difficult as we expected,” said White. “There was only a slight gradient which resulted in the biggest sprinters in the world making it through and going head to head to the line.”

Read the full report here.


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Marcel Kittel (GER) - Etixx - Quick-Step 5:28:30
2 Bryan Coquard (FRA) - Direct Energie ST
3 Peter Sagan (SVK) - Tinkoff Team ST
4 Dylan Groenewegen (NED) - Team LottoNl-Jumbo ST
5 Alexander Kristoff (NOR) - Team Katusha ST
6 Sondre Holst Enger (NOR) - IAM Cycling ST
7 Daniel Mclay (GBR) - Fortuneo - Vital Concept ST
8 Mark Cavendish (GBR) - Dimension Data ST
9 Samuel Dumoulin (FRA) - AG2R La Mondiale ST
10 Simon Gerrans (AUS) - ORICA-BikeExchange ST
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
10 Simon Gerrans (AUS) - ORICA-BikeExchange ST
14 Michael Matthews (AUS) - ORICA-BikeExchange ST
46 Mathew Hayman (AUS) - ORICA-BikeExchange ST
50 Adam Yates (GBR) - ORICA-BikeExchange ST
115 Daryl Impey (RSA) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:00:32
147 Ruben Plaza (SPA) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:01:33
148 Luke Durbridge (AUS) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:01:33
160 Michael Albasini (SWI) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:01:56
175 Christopher Juul Jensen (DEN) - ORICA-BikeExchange 0:05:00