Tour de Korea
Stage 1: Busan to Gumi - Stage Details

The opening stage for the Tour de Korea started according to plan with a breakaway group of five, who were chased and brought back due to combined efforts by ORCIA-GreenEDGE and Drapac.

The Australian outfit was aiming for the predicted bunch sprint finish, and were in great position until they got involved in a crash with just a few hundred metres to go. 

Sports director David McPartland explains: “The stage started off as a predominantly flat one and the profile suited a bunch sprint, which was our goal. After a while fives riders escaped, and we were happy with that. Once their gap reached six minutes, we started to ride at the front to control and make sure they didn’t go any further than six minutes."

Read the full report here


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Wouter Wippert (NED) - Drapac Professional Cycling 4:37:45
2 Joon Yong Seo (KOR) - KSPO ST
3 Sung Baek Park (KOR) - KSPO ST
4 Siu Wai Ko (HKG) - HKSI Pro Cycling Team ST
5 Burr Ho (HKG) - HKSI Pro Cycling Team ST
6 Volodymyr Zagorondy (UKR) - RTS-Santic Racing Team ST
7 Jae Yeon Im (KOR) - Korea ST
8 Keisuke Kimura (JAP) - Shimano Racing Tea, ST
9 James Glasspool (AUS) - Team Novo Nordisk ST
10 Dario Hernandez (SPA) - Burgos-BH ST
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
42 Adam Blythe (GBR) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
74 Michael Hepburn (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
109 Caleb Ewan (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
110 Jens Mouris (NED) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 2:57
113 Mitch Docker (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
114 Leigh Howard (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST