Tour de Pologne
Stage 2: Torun - Warszawa - Stage Details

Multiple grand tour stage winner Michael Matthews has won the bunch sprint for second position on stage two of the Tour of Poland this afternoon.

Reigning champion Pieter Weening also finished in the main peloton to protect his title defence ambitions.

The second place for Matthews, 21 seconds behind solo winner Petr Vakoc (OPQ), confirmed the 23-year-old’s return to form after an injury that saw his last minute withdrawal from the Tour de France. 

“It was probably a little bit of a surprise more than anything,” sport director David McPartland said.

“We knew he was going OK but we didn’t think he had come back to such a high level so quickly."

Read the full stage 2 report here.


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Petr Vakoc (CZE) - Omega Pharma - Quick-Step Cycling Team 5:23:54
2 Michael Matthews (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:00:21
3 Boris Vallee (BEL) - Lotto Belisol ST
4 Ramon Sinkeldam (NED) - Team Giant-Shimano ST
5 Yauheni Hutarovich (BLR) - AG2R La Mondiale ST
6 Nikolas Maes (BEL) - Omega Pharma - Quick-Step Cycling Team ST
7 Marco Haller (AUT) - Team Katusha ST
8 Guillaume Boivin (CAN) - Cannondale ST
9 Luka Mezgec (SLO) - Team Giant-Shimano ST
10 Tyler Farrar (USA) - Garmin Sharp ST
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
2 Michael Matthews (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:00:21
58 Pieter Weening (NED) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:00:21
85 Ivan Santaromita (ITA) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:00:21
109 Mitchell Docker (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:00:41
110 Brett Lancaster (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:00:43
131 Christian Meier (CAN) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:01:17
134 Sam Bewley (NZL) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:01:17
150 Cameron Meyer (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:02:26