Tour de Pologne
Stage 5: Zakopane - Strbske Pleso - Stage Details

Reigning champion Pieter Weening has shown his title defence intentions with a late attack on stage five of the Tour of Poland.

The brave move with one kilometre left to ride was closed down in the final few hundred metres, Weening settling for 14th position on the same time as stage winner Rafa Majka (TSB).

The result, on what was the first mountain stage of the Tour, has moved Weening into 11th position overall, ten seconds behind overall leader Petr Vacok (OPQ).

“Pieter got caught but it could have gone either way,” sport director David McPartland said.

Read the full stage 5 report here.


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Rafal Majka (POL) - Tinkoff-Saxo 4:30:38
2 Benat Intxausti Elorriaga (SPA) - Movistar Team ST
3 Jon Izaguirre Insausti (SPA) - Movistar Team ST
4 Gianluca Brambilla (ITA) - Omega Pharma - Quick-Step Cycling Team ST
5 Warren Barguil (FRA) - Team Giant-Shimano ST
6 Samuel Sanchez (SPA) - BMC Racing Team ST
7 Davide Formolo (ITA) - Cannondale ST
8 Lars Petter Nordhaug (NOR) - Belkin Pro Cycling Team ST
9 Andrey Amador Bakkazakova (CRC) - Movistar Team ST
10 Przemyslaw Niemiec (POL) - Lampre-Merida ST
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
14 Pieter Weening (NED) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
41 Michael Matthews (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:00:26
61 Ivan Santaromita (ITA) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:02:12
76 Cameron Meyer (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:07:53
77 Sam Bewley (NZL) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:07:53
91 Christian Meier (CAN) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:09:26
141 Mitchell Docker (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:18:32
143 Brett Lancaster (AUS) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:18:32