Tour de Romandie
Stage 4: Fribourg-Fribourg - Stage Details

Michael Albasini took his third stage victory at the 2014 Tour de Romandie in a three-up sprint, beating Thomas Voeckler (Europcar) and Jan Bakelants (Omega Pharma – Quick-Step) to the line. The trio were part of an early five rider breakaway that formed shortly after the first ten kilometres on stage four. The win is the fifth this week for ORICA-GreenEDGE and the 20thprofessional victory for Albasini. Nine of those wins come during Albasini’s tenure with the Australian outfit. 

Jean-Marc Marino (Cannondale) and Alexis Vuillermoz (Ag2r La Mondiale) joined Albasini, Bakelants and Voeckler up the road on the opening lap of the 30 kilometre course. The penultimate day of racing included six times round the circuit that began and ended in Fribourg. The lumpy loop included one category three ascent. An acceleration by Bakelants the final time up the climb distanced Marino and Vuillermoz. 

“In the last few kilometres, I was doing the work. I knew I would have to ride from the front because there was no room for playing games and watching each other. They were never going to let me on their wheel, so I would have to lead out the sprint from the head of the group. I closed out one side, and I was controlling attacks.I knew that I could do the sprint from 200 metres. When I started, the other guys had to make up my bike length, so I had an advantage that way. I’m also not that slow in the sprint. I knew it would work out well for me.” - Michael Albasini


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Michael Albasini (Swi) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 4:14:21
2 Thomas Voeckler (Fra) - Team Europcar ST
3 Jan Bakelants (Bel) - Omega Pharma - Quick-Step Cycling Team ST
4 Davide Appollonio (Ita) - AG2R La Mondiale 0:00:09
5 Anthony Roux (Fra) - ST
6 Oscar Gatto (Ita) - Cannondale ST
7 Ramunas Navardauskas (Ltu) - Garmin Sharp ST
8 Luka Mezgec (Slo) - Team Giant-Shimano ST
9 Roberto Ferrari (Ita) - Lampre-Merida ST
10 Tony Hurel (Fra) - Team Europcar ST
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
1 Michael Albasini (Swi) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 4:14:21
18 Nino Schurter (Swi) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
54 Cameron Meyer (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
80 Brett Lancaster (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:03:50
98 Christian Meier (Can) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:04:04
112 Michael Hepburn (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:08:04
115 Svein Tuft (Can) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST