Tour de Romandie
Stage 5: Neuchâtel-Neuchâtel - Stage Details

A successful week of racing in Romandie for ORICA-GreenEDGE came to a close on Sunday in Neuchâtel with the final stage time trial. Cameron Meyer was the Australian outfit’s top finisher in the Tour de Romandie individual time trial. Stopping the clock at 25’32 over 18.5 kilometres, Meyer slotted into 16th place, 42” behind Chris Froome (Team Sky), who won the overall along with the stage win.

Mountain Bike World Champion Nino Schurter began his first WorldTour race with the first time trial of his career. Six days later, he capped off his first week in the professional road racing peloton with another time trial. Stephens was pleased to report on the progress he saw between Schurter’s two performances.

“It was satisfying to work with Nino for his second ever time trial. The prologue on Tuesday was his first time trial, and I think he was first to admit that he didn’t pace it that well. He paced this one a lot better. He obviously still has great room for improvement, but he has already shown drastic gains from earlier in the week to today. 

"The main objective today was to have one last hit out for the Giro guys. It wasn’t a time trial that ideally suited the bigger guys like Heppy [Michael Hepburn] and Svein [Tuft] but they gave a really good effort. I was pleased with the work they did today.” - Sport Director Neil Stephens


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Christopher Froome (GBr) - Team Sky 0:24:51
2 Tony Martin (Ger) - Omega Pharma - Quick-Step Cycling Team 0:00:01
3 Jesse Sergent (NZl) - Trek Factory Racing 0:00:08
4 Rigoberto Uran (Col) - Omega Pharma - Quick-Step Cycling Team 0:00:15
5 Jon Izaguirre Insausti (Spa) - Movistar Team 0:00:20
6 Riccardo Zoidl (Aut) - Trek Factory Racing 0:00:29
7 Simon Spilak (Slo) - Team Katusha ST
8 Rui Alberto Faria da Costa (Por) - Lampre-Merida 0:00:31
9 Thibaut Pinot (Fra) - 0:00:35
10 Mathias Frank (Swi) - IAM Cycling ST
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
16 Cameron Meyer (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:00:42
36 Svein Tuft (Can) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:01:26
40 Michael Hepburn (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:01:37
62 Nino Schurter (Swi) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:02:10
75 Michael Albasini (Swi) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:02:28
119 Christian Meier (Can) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:04:33