Tour de San Luis
Stage 2: La Punta – Mirador del Potrero - Stage Details

Ivan Santaromita put his climbing legs to the test on the second stage of the Tour de San Luis. He managed seventh place atop the Mirador del Potrero summit finish, the first of three mountaintop finishes at the Argentinean stage race. The Italian National Road Champion came to the finish with Domenico Pozzovivo (Ag2r La Mondiale) and Haimar Zubeldia (Trek Factory Racing), 5” behind stage winner Julian Arredondo (Trek Factory Racing).

After his breakaway bridge attempt on stage one, Christian Meier had another strong showing on stage two. Losing only 23” to the stage winner and 4” to overall race leader Phil Gaimon, Meier crossed the line in 17th place, one spot ahead of teammate Adam Yates in 18th place. Meier’s efforts allowed him to leapfrog up to third overall, 3’52 outside the race lead. Santaromita trails the race leader by 4’21 in tenth on the general classification tied on time with eighth and ninth place while Yates, in 17th overall, moved into the best young riders jersey.

"My teammates did a great job bringing me to the bottom of the climb in a good position. After they left me, my job was to stay with the leaders. Peter Stetina (BMC) attacked after about one kilometre of climbing. Only Arredondo was able to bridge across. The rest of us fought all the way to the finish for the smaller places. I finished in seventh place – not bad but also not as good as what I had hoped." - Ivan Santaromita


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Julian David Arredondo Moreno (Col) - Trek Factory Racing 4:13:21
2 Peter Stetina (USA) - BMC Racing Team ST
3 Nairo Alexander Quintana Rojas (Col) - Movistar Team 0:00:03
4 Darwin Atapuma Hurtado (Col) - BMC Racing Team ST
5 Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita) - AG2R La Mondiale 0:00:05
6 Haimar Zubeldia Agirre (Spa) - Trek Factory Racing ST
7 Ivan Santaromita (Ita) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
8 Damiano Caruso (Ita) - Cannondale 0:00:08
9 Miguel Angel Rubiano (Col) - Team Colombia ST
10 Eduardo Sepulveda (Arg) - Bretagne - Seche Environnement ST
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
7 Ivan Santaromita (Ita) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
17 Christian Meier (Can) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:00:23
18 Adam Yates (GBr) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:00:31
84 Jens Keukeleire (Bel) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:07:06
85 Aidis Kruopis (Ltu) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
95 Pieter Weening (Ned) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST