Tour de San Luis
Stage 6: Las Chacras – Merlo (Mirador del Sol) - Stage Details

Adam Yates continues to impress in Argentina. The ORICA-GreenEDGE neo-pro climbed his way to ninth place on the sixth stage of the Tour de San Luis. Yates crossed the finish line atop the Mirador de Sol in a group of three riders, 30” down on stage winner Julian Arredondo (Trek Factory Racing).

The result was enough to allow Yates to jump up one spot on the overall, where he now sits in 11th place at 4’35 behind race leader Nairo Quintana (Movistar). Heading into the final day of racing, the neo-pro has a firm grasp on the best young riders jersey.

Yates enjoyed an easy ride in the peloton today in part thanks to the efforts of Jens Keukeleire. The Belgian put himself into the early breakaway that included Gregory Brenes (Jamis-Hagens Berman), Richard Mascarañas (Uruguay), Juan Esteban Arango (Colombia), Kenny Dehaes (Lotto Belisol), Anthony Delaplace (Bretagne-Seche Environnement) and Larry Warbasse (BMC). The leaders gained a maximum advantage of slightly more than five minutes before Movistar began to peg them back to the bunch. 

"I felt strong in the breakaway. We managed to stay in the front a bit longer than I expected. There was a big crash in the bunch with maybe 20 kilometres left. Our group lost a few riders along the way. I was one of the last ones caught on the lower slopes of the final climb. The peloton didn’t want to let us go all the way to the finish." - Jens Keukeleire


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Julian David Arredondo Moreno (Col) - Trek Factory Racing 4:16:54
2 Sergio Godoy (Arg) - San Luis Somos Todos 0:00:01
3 Nairo Alexander Quintana Rojas (Col) - Movistar Team 0:00:05
4 Cleberson Weber (Bra) - Clube Dataro de Ciclismo-Bottecchia 0:00:09
5 Jose Rodolfo Serpa Perez (Col) - Lampre-Merida 0:00:10
6 Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita) - AG2R La Mondiale 0:00:12
7 Thomas Danielson (USA) - Garmin Sharp 0:00:14
8 Phillip Gaimon (USA) - Garmin Sharp ST
9 Adam Yates (GBr) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:00:30
10 Eduardo Sepulveda (Arg) - Bretagne - Seche Environnement
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
9 Adam Yates (GBr) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:00:30
23 Christian Meier (Can) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:01:23
34 Ivan Santaromita (Ita) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:02:07
55 Pieter Weening (Ned) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:03:45
85 Jens Keukeleire (Bel) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:08:03
101 Aidis Kruopis (Ltu) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:08:51