Tour de Suisse
Stage 4: Heiden - Ossingen - Stage Details

Mark Cavendish (Omega Pharma – Quick-Step) took a commanding victory on the fourth stage of the Tour de Suisse. Patience paid for the Manx Missle who was one of the last amongst the sprinters to unleash his kick to the line. Juan José Lobato (Movistar) and Peter Sagan (Cannondale) slotted into lessor stage podium positions as ORICA-GreenEDGE's Matt Goss rounded out the top ten.

It was a fairly straightforward day until the chaotic sprint. A crash in the neutral zone briefly delayed the race start and forced Daniele Ratto (Cannondale) and Jelle Vanendert (Lotto-Belisol) out of the race. When the action began in earnest, Daniel Teklehaimanot (MTN-Qhubeka) and Laurens De Vreese (Wanty-Groupe Gobert) slipped up the road. The duo built up a four minute advantage before the peloton gave chase.

Ten kilometres from the line, the leading duo had returned to the bunch, and the peloton readied for the inevitable bunch sprint. Giant-Shimano, Cannondale and Omega Pharma – Quick-Step devoted full trains to the task at hand.

“We only had Sam Bewley and Maty Hayman. As I explained before the start of the race, our focus here isn’t on the sprint. Sam and Mat put Gossy in a good sprint to sprint going into the final kilometre. They placed him well. There was a lot of pushing and shoving behind Cav, and Gossy was mixed up in that. He started his sprint from about tenth back and that’s where he ended up.” - Sport Director Neil Stephens


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Mark Cavendish (GBr) - Omega Pharma - Quick-Step Cycling Team 3:35:03
2 Juan Jose Lobato (Spa) - Movistar Team ST
3 Peter Sagan (Svk) - Cannondale ST
4 Sacha Modolo (Ita) - Lampre-Merida ST
5 Alexander Kristoff (Nor) - Team Katusha ST
6 Danny van Poppel (Ned) - Trek Factory Racing ST
7 Jonas Van Genechten (Bel) - Lotto Belisol ST
8 Davide Appollonio (Ita) - AG2R La Mondiale ST
9 Jose Joaquin Rojas Gil (Spa) - Movistar Team ST
10 Matthew Harley Goss (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
10 Matthew Harley Goss (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
23 Nino Schurter (Swi) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:00:04
26 Mathew Hayman (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
39 Simon Clarke (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
104 Michael Albasini (Swi) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
119 Sam Bewley (NZl) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
121 Esteban Chaves Rubio (Col) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
162 Cameron Meyer (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:03:11