Tour de Suisse
Stage 6: Büren A.D. Aare - Delémont - Stage Details

Matteo Trentin (Omega Pharma – Quick-Step) won the sixth stage of the Tour de Suisse as his teammate Tony Martin retained the race lead. Trentin and Martin were part of a 60+ strong front group contesting the slight uphill finish. Nino Schurter was the top finisher for ORICA-GreenEDGE, finishing on bunch time in 14th place.

The Australian outfit targeted the early breakaway with first Simon Clarke and then Michael Albasini representing the team in the early moves. Albasini’s escape group received the nod from the peloton. The five leaders managed to hold off the bunch until the day’s penultimate climb. Albasini was the last man standing, staying away until just before the summit of the Col des Rangiers.

Warren Barguil (Giant-Shimano) launched the first significant counter-attack but never managed to collect more than a handful of seconds. He returned to the bunch with 19 kilometres left to race. Team Sky set a quick pace at the front of the peloton on the twisting descent.

The action head up on the final climb as Laurent Didier (Trek Factory Racing) went on the attack. When the peloton overtook Dider, Matthias Frank (IAM) made a move with Thibaut Pinot ( on his wheel. Sagan attacked across to the leaders, who proved unable to match his pace. The Slovakian crested the final climb alone and took a daring approach to the descent.

Back on flat ground three kilometres from the finish, the reduced bunch came back together, setting the scene for the sprint.

Note: Feeling the effects of his crash in the stage five sprint, Matt Goss did not start stage six as a precautionary measure.

“We wanted to go in the break with whoever we could today. Clarkey, Albasini and Nino were the riders targeting the moves – and Cam [Meyer] to a certain degree. Straight from the start, Clarkey went away. It looked pretty good for awhile, but it came back together. Alba went away after that. With only four riders out there and a lot of wind at the front, it was never going to be hard for the break to bring back the group, but we wanted to give it a try and see what we could do.” – Sport Director Neil Stephens




Place Rider/Team Time
1 Matteo Trentin (Ita) - Omega Pharma - Quick-Step Cycling Team 4:43:19
2 Daniele Bennati (Ita) - Tinkoff-Saxo ST
3 Francesco Gavazzi (Ita) - Astana Pro Team ST
4 Ben Swift (GBr) - Team Sky ST
5 Peter Sagan (Svk) - Cannondale ST
6 Sacha Modolo (Ita) - Lampre-Merida ST
7 Jose Joaquin Rojas Gil (Spa) - Movistar Team ST
8 Silvan Dillier (Swi) - BMC Racing Team ST
9 Sergio Luis Henao Montoya (Col) - Team Sky ST
10 Tosh Van Der Sande (Bel) - Lotto Belisol ST
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
14 Nino Schurter (Swi) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
54 Esteban Chaves Rubio (Col) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
66 Simon Clarke (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
96 Mathew Hayman (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:09:40
104 Sam Bewley (NZl) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:17:39
115 Michael Albasini (Swi) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
156 Cameron Meyer (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:18:18