Tour de Suisse
Stage 9: Martigny - Saas-Fee - Stage Details

Rui Costa (Lampre-Merida) took his first win in the rainbow jersey on the final stage of the Tour de Suisse and upset the overall classification in the process. The Road World Champion bridged across to the early breakaway on the penultimate climb, distancing himself from Tony Martin (Omega Pharma – Quick-Step) and several other overall contenders. Three kilometres from the finish, Costa launched a second attack to solo to victory in Saas-Fee.

Esteban Chaves was part of the yellow jersey group that put up a valiant fight to limit the damage done by the riders up the road.  With the most to lose, Martin spearheaded the chase with assistance from Tom Dumoulin (Giant-Shimano) who started the stage in second overall. Feeling the effects from his brilliant effort yesterday, Chaves followed wheels but was unable to take turns on the front.

Although he suffered, others suffered more. Chaves climbed to 22nd on the stage, crossing the finish line 3’19 behind Costa and jumping up three spots on the overall. He finishes the nine day WorldTour race in 16th place on the general classification. 

"Esteban was feeling good at the start today. At the moment when Rui Costa and a couple of other guys went on the attack, I was thinking about having him jump over to the group out front if he had the energy. In reality, it became quite clear that Esteban wasn’t on the best day in the finale. Tactically, I had idea in mind but even if we had done it, I don’t think he could have done much in the final. He obviously was paying for his efforts from yesterday." - Sport Director Neil Stephens


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Rui Alberto Faria Da Costa (Por) - Lampre-Merida 4:13:14
2 Bauke Mollema (Ned) - Belkin-Pro Cycling Team 0:00:14
3 Mathias Frank (Swi) - IAM Cycling 0:00:24
4 Steve Morabito (Swi) - BMC Racing Team 0:00:47
5 Olivier Zaugg (Swi) - Tinkoff-Saxo ST
6 Fernando S Martins Cardoso (Por) - Garmin Sharp 0:01:28
7 Jeremy Roy (Fra) - 0:01:41
8 Marcel Wyss (Swi) - IAM Cycling 0:01:48
9 Tom Dumoulin (Ned) - Team Giant-Shimano 0:02:18
10 Roman Kreuziger (Cze) - Tinkoff-Saxo ST
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
22 Esteban Chaves Rubio (Col) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:03:19
50 Nino Schurter (Swi) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:20:05
55 Michael Albasini (Swi) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:20:05
107 Simon Clarke (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:32:39
108 Sam Bewley (NZl) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST