Tour de Suisse
Stage 8: Zernez - Bad Ragaz - Stage Details

Michael Albasini narrowly finished off the Tour de Suisse stage eight podium. Fourth from a group of 34 that formed over the category three ascent ten kilometres from the finish, Albasini was unaware that team leader Cameron Meyer had missed the selection after suffering a puncture ahead of the climb. Meyer fought hard to limit his losses to 27” and two spots on the overall. 

"Aidis [Kruopis] immediately gave Cam his wheel, and we were able to make it up to them pretty quickly. We helped Cam with the wheel change and took him back through the cars up to Stuey [Stuart O’Grady] and Cookie [Baden Cooke] who were waiting for him at the back of the bunch. They managed to get him about mid-pack by the time the climb began.

"It was a good effort by all three guys, but because Cam started the climb so far back, he had to make his way around all the riders getting dropped. We were completely unaware of this. We knew he had made it back to the bunch, but we had no idea that he was having any trouble on the climb. Because we didn’t know, we couldn’t let any of his teammates know. Eventually we learned from race radio that Cam was in difficultly. By then, it was a little bit too late to do anything about it." - Sport Director Matt White


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Peter Sagan (Svk) - Cannondale Pro Cycling 4:33:26
2 Daniele Bennati (Ita) - Team Saxo-Tinkoff ST
3 Philippe Gilbert (Bel) - BMC Racing Team ST
4 Michael Albasini (Swi) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
5 Christophe Riblon (Fra) - AG2R La Mondiale ST
6 Martin Elmiger (Swi) - IAM Cycling ST
7 Peter Velits (Svk) - Omega Pharma-Quick Step ST
8 Julien Simon (Fra) - Sojasun ST
9 Maxime Monfort (Bel) - RadioShack Leopard ST
10 Simon Geschke (Ger) - Team Argos-Shimano ST
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
4 Michael Albasini (Swi) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
36 Cameron Meyer (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:00:27
117 Baden Cooke (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:05:20
118 Matthew Harley Goss (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
121 Daryl Impey (RSA) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:05:47
122 Stuart O'Grady (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
125 Sam Bewley (NZl) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
150 Aidis Kruopis (Ltu) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:06:44