Circuit Franco-Belge
Stage 1: La Louvière - Menin - Stage Details


The first stage of Circuit Franco-Belge was dominated by a mid-race crash that caused a split in the field. During the second half of the race, attacks, splits and regroupings were a constant. Eventually, eight riders escaped on the finishing circuit to contest the sprint amongst themselves. Jurgen Roelandts (Lotto-Belisol) took the win.

Aidis Kruopis was our top finisher in 20th place. Part of a 60 rider group behind the break, Kruopis, Jens Keukeleire and Sam Bewley represented ORICA-GreenEDGE in the first peloton when the crash split the field mid-race.

Kruopis won the second intermediate sprint ahead of Roelandts and Giacomo Nizzolo (RadioShack-Nissan-Trek). 


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Jurgen Roelandts (Bel) - Lotto Belisol Team 3:44:22
2 Guillaume Van Keirsbulck (Bel) - Omega Pharma - QuickStep ST
3 Maarten Wynants (Bel) - Rabobank Cycling Team ST
4 Juan Antonio Flecha Giannoni (Spa) - Sky Procycling ST
5 Karsten Kroon (Ned) - Team Saxo Bank - Tinkoff Bank ST
6 Benoît Vaugrenard (Fra) - FDJ-Big Mat ST
7 Michael Schär (Swi) - BMC Racing Team St
8 Sep Vanmarcke (Bel) - Garmin-Sharp St
9 Robert Wagner (Ger) - RadioShack-Nissan 0:00:39
10 André Greipel (Ger) - Lotto Belisol Team ST
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
20 Aidis Kruopis (Ltu) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:00:39
53 Jens Keukeleire (Bel) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
56 Sam Bewley (NZl) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
75 Mitchell Docker (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:02:38
133 Leigh Howard (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
134 Jens Mouris (Ned) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
157 Michael Hepburn (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:15:12