Circuit Franco-Belge
Stage 2: Antoing - Poperinge - Stage Details


Early break attempts made for a fast start to the second stage of Circuit Franco Belge, and an early catch of a five rider escape group made for an aggressive second half of racing. Despite repeated break attempts and splits in the field, a full force peloton charged towards the finish in Poperinge for a bunch kick. Third across the line, Aidis Kruopis secured the final step on the podium behind stage winner Marcel Kittel (Argos-Shimano) and Nacer Bouhanni (FDJ – BigMat).

“The team did a really strong pull in the last two laps. They came to the front and they worked hard for their sprinter. Sam Bewley did especially good work. We were able to keep three guys fresh to help put Aidis in the right position for the sprint.” - Sports Director Lionel Marie


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Marcel Kittel (Ger) - Argos - Shimano 4:13:50
2 Nacer Bouhanni (Fra) - FDJ-Big Mat ST
3 Aidis Kruopis (Ltu) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
4 Jurgen Roelandts (Bel) - Lotto Belisol Team ST
5 Michael Van Staeyen (Bel) - Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator ST
6 Giacomo Nizzolo (Ita) - RadioShack-Nissan ST
7 Steven Caethoven (Bel) - Accent Jobs - Willems Veranda's ST
8 Heinrich Haussler (Aus) - Garmin-Sharp ST
9 Andrew Fenn (GBr) - Omega Pharma - QuickStep ST
10 Kenny Robert Van Hummel (Ned) - Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team ST
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
3 Aidis Kruopis (Ltu) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
31 Jens Keukeleire (Bel) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
49 Jens Mouris (Ned) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
111 Mitchell Docker (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:01:59
140 Michael Hepburn (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:07:56
141 Sam Bewley (NZl) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
166 Leigh Howard (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST