Tour of Beijing
Stage 1: Tian An Men Square - Bird’s Nest Olympic Stadium - Stage Details


Aidis Kruopis sprinted to eighth on the first stage of Tour of Beijing. Elia Vivani (LIQ) won the race opener ahead of Andy Fenn (Omega Pharma-QuickStep) and Edvald Boasson Hagen (SKY). A five-rider break dominated the 117 kilometer stage that began in Tian An Men Square and concluded after 12 laps around Birds Nest Piazza.

 A five-rider break dominated the early action. The breakaway never gained more than a two minute advantage, and as the laps ticked down, Christian Meier took control of the chase for ORICA-GreenEDGE. A frequent figure at the head of the bunch, Meier sliced the break’s advantage to one minute in the second half of the race. Inside the penultimate lap, it was back together ahead of the inevitable sprint finish. 


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Elia Viviani (Ita) - Liquigas-Cannondale 2:37:49
2 Andrew Fenn (GBr) - Omega Pharma-Quickstep ST
3 Edvald Boasson Hagen (Nor) - Sky Procycling ST
4 Kenny Robert Van Hummel (Ned) - Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team ST
5 Greg Henderson (NZl) - Lotto Belisol Team ST
6 Theo Bos (Ned) - Rabobank Cycling Team ST
7 Enrique Sanz (Spa) - Movistar Team ST
8 Aidis Kruopis (Ltu) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
9 Alessandro Petacchi (Ita) - Lampre - ISD ST
10 Klaas Lodewyck (Bel) - BMC Racing Team ST
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
8 Aidis Kruopis (Ltu) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
38 Allan Davis (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
75 Simon Clarke (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:00:09
81 Christian Meier (Can) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
87 Wesley Sulzberger (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
90 Leigh Howard (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
108 Sebastian Langeveld (Ned) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
130 Mitchell Docker (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:00:45