Tour of Alberta
Stage 3: Starthmore - Drumheller - Stage Details

Kruopis showed that his improved form was no fluke when he rode himself into a large breakaway that formed in the second hour of racing. The group swelled to 18 riders including several overall contenders: Rohan Dennis (Garmin-Sharp), Brett Bookwalter (BMC), Patrick Gretsch (Argos-Shimano), Robert Gesink (Belkin), Damiano Caruso (Cannondale), Bobby Sweeting (5 Hour Energy/Kenda) and Francisco Mancebo (5 Hour Energy/Kenda).

The breakaway fractured over the second KOM with several small groups emerging. Eventually, a six rider lead group and 12 rider chase group took shape. Kruopis was amongst the chasers, who came within 9" of rejoining the leaders. Rohan Dennis (Garmin Sharp) won the six-up sprint to take the stage victory. Kruopis rolled across the line with the chase group in 16th place. The peloton, including Sagan, finished 16’48 behind Dennis, moving Dennis into the race lead.

“There are now only 18 guys with any shot of winning this race. Really, there are about ten or so with any real chance. Ideally, we would have had one of our GC guys in the move today, but that’s wasn’t to be. Any GC ambitions we had are done after today,” White added. “Aidis is a good guy to have here. He’s getting better every day, so we can work for him in the sprints. Tomorrow may be a good day for the break. Garmin should be happy to let a group down the road. Maybe we’ll be able to get Cam or Pete in the move tomorrow.” - DS Matt White


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Rohan Dennis (Aus) - Garmin-Sharp 3:55:31
2 Brent Bookwalter (USA) - BMC Racing Team ST
3 Damiano Caruso (Ita) - Cannondale Pro Cycling ST
4 Patrick Gretsch (Ger) - Team Argos-Shimano ST
5 Robert Gesink (Ned) - Belkin Pro Cycling Team ST
6 Steve Morabito (Swi) - BMC Racing Team ST
7 Ryan Anderson (Can) - Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies 0:00:09
8 Marcus Burghardt (Ger) - BMC Racing Team ST
9 Jakub Novak (Cze) - BMC Racing Team ST
10 Jeremy Vennell (NZl) - Bissell Pro Cycling ST
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
16 Aidis Kruopis (Ltu) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:00:09
46 Tomas Vaitkus (Ltu) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:16:48
53 Jiyong Kang (Kor) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
80 Fumiyuki Beppu (Jpn) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
109 Michael Hepburn (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
111 Cameron Meyer (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
114 Pieter Weening (Ned) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST