Tour of Flanders - Race Overview

Recent De Panne stage winner Luke Durbridge has continued to show his growth as a classics rider, finishing in a strong 12th place at the Tour of Flanders.

The result betters the 25-year-old’s previous best of 43rd at the monument, one of the toughest one-day races in the world.

After missing a key move on the Muur, ORICA-SCOTT joined BMC Racing Team and Bora-Hansgrohe in the chase to put their main players back in the race.

In the end, an attack with 55km to go by Philippe Gilbert (QuickStep Floors) went unmatched as he took the solo victory. Durbridge finished amongst the third group, in the sprint for fifth.

“Luke and the boys did a good job,” sport director Laurenzo Lapage said. “OK we missed that first main move, but the guys responded to close the gap and get us back in there.”

Read the full report here.

Place Rider/Team Time
1 Philippe Gilbert (BEL) - Quick-Step Floors 6:23:45
2 Greg Van Avermaet (BEL) - BMC Racing Team 0:00:29
3 Niki Terpstra (NED) - Quick-Step Floors 0:00:29
4 Dylan Van Baarle (NED) - Cannondale-Drapac 0:00:29
5 Alexander Kristoff (NOR) - Katusha-Alpecin 0:00:53
6 Sacha Modolo (ITA) - Team UAE Emirates 0:00:53
7 John Degenkolb (GER) - Trek-Segafredo 0:00:53
8 Filippo Pozzato (ITA) - Wilier Triestina 0:00:53
9 Sylvain Chavanel (FRA) - Direct Energie 0:00:53
10 Sonny Colbrelli (ITA) - Bahrain-Merida 0:00:53
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
12 Luke Durbridge (AUS) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:00:53
25 Alexander Edmonson (AUS) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:03:30
30 Magnus Cort Nielsen (DEN) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:03:30
69 Sam Bewley (NZL) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:04:32
91 Mathew Hayman (AUS) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:08:35
92 Mitch Docker (AUS) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:08:35