Holland Ladies Tour
Stage 1: Roden - Stage Details

The opening stage of the Boels Holland Ladies Tour ended in a bunch sprint won by Kirstin Wild (Argos Shimano). Although the Dutch super sprinter edged out Lizzie Armitstead (Boels Dolmans) for the stage victory, Armitstead pulled on the first leader’s jersey by virtue of bonus seconds she earned at the intermediate sprints and on the finish line. Trixi Worrack (Specialized-lululemon) rounded out the stage podium ahead of Nettie Edmondson in fourth and Melissa Hoskins in fifth. Edmondson earned the best young rider jersey for her efforts.

"The plan today had been to ride for Nettie in the sprint. She’s coming off good results at the Lotto Belisol Tour, including a win on the final day of racing. However, during the final hour of racing, Loes noticed that Nettie had been having some trouble making her way to the front of the pack. With 30km still to race, Loes made the call that the team would sprint for Mel.

"It doesn’t happen very often that Loes makes a change in plans on the road like that, but as the road captain, she has the authority to make that sort of decision and communicate it to her teammates. We’re lucky to have the luxury of two sprinters in the team, which gave Loes the option of making that decision in the first place. Unfortunately, without race radios, Loes was unable to communicate the change in plan directly to each of her teammates.

"In the end, neither Nettie nor Shara [Gillow] were aware that the plan had changed. Nettie came to the front 2km from the finish, expecting that she would sprint. In the end, both Nettie and Mel sprinted but neither was sprinting for the other. It was an absolute muck-up. The girls were lucky to run fourth and fifth, but we could have had a much better result had things better coordinated." - Sport Director Dave McPartland


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Kirsten Wild (Ned) - Argos-Shimano 2:42:51
2 Elizabeth Armitstead (GBr) - Boels Dolmans Cycling Team ST
3 Trixi Worrack (Ger) - Specialized-lululemon ST
4 Annette Edmondson (Aus) - ORICA-AIS ST
5 Eleonora Van Dijk (Ned) - Specialized-lululemon ST
6 Melissa Hoskins (Aus) - ORICA-AIS ST
7 Shelley Olds (USA) - Team TIBCO-To The Top ST
8 Chloe Hosking (Aus) - Hitec Products UCK 0:00:02
9 Marta Tagliaferro (Ita) - MCipollini Giordana ST
10 Amy Pieters (Ned) - Argos-Shimano ST
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
4 Annette Edmondson (Aus) - ORICA-AIS ST
6 Melissa Hoskins (Aus) - ORICA-AIS ST
19 Loes Gunnewijk (Ned) - ORICA-AIS 0:00:06
40 Amanda Spratt (Aus) - ORICA-AIS 0:00:14
43 Shara Gillow (Aus) - ORICA-AIS ST
59 Gracie Elvin (Aus) - ORICA-AIS ST