Holland Ladies Tour
Stage 4: Papendrecht - Stage Details

A two rider breakaway contested the win on stage four of the Boels Rental Holland Ladies Tour. Elke Gebhardt (Argos-Shimano) distanced Vera Koedooder (Sengers Ladies) before the line to claim victory. The duo escaped from the bunch in the opening kilometres. Neither posed a threat on the overall classification, and the main protagonists in the bunch seemed content to allow them to maintain a small gap to the line.

ORICA-AIS had hoped to split the field in an attempt to gain time and places on the general classification. No other team seemed to share in this ambition. The field stayed together, and the top ten overall remained virtually unchanged with Trixi Worrack (Specialized-lululemon) in the leader’s jersey and Specialized-lululemon occupying first through fifth place. ORICA-AIS maintains a hold on places sixth through tenth overall.

“Basically, our main objective today was to split up the race. It became evident at the start that there was going to be little or no wind today, so the split wasn’t going to happen that way. If the field was going to split, it would need to come from our attempts to force a break down the road.

“We realised quickly that we were kidding ourselves with that option as well,” McPartland added. “Every time the girls tried to do something, another team would react. It wasn’t always the same team, but the mix of different teams with different interests was not in our favour today.” - Sport Director Dave McPartland


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Elke Gebhardt (Bel) - Argos-Shimano 2:50:00
2 Vera Koedooder (Ned) - Sengers Ladies 0:00:03
3 Emilie Moberg (Nor) - Hitec Products UCK 0:00:21
4 Shelley Olds (Ned) - Team TIBCO ST
5 Kirsten Wild (Ita) - Argos-Shimano ST
6 Maria Confalonieri (Ita) - Italy ST
7 Marta Tagliaferro (Ita) - Mcipollini-Giordana ST
8 Monique van de Ree (Ned) - Ronald McDonald Huis Groningen ST
9 Sabrina Stultiens (Ned) - Rabobank-Liv/Giant ST
10 Ellen Van Dijk (Ned) - Specialized-lululemon ST
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
12 Gracie Elvin (Aus) - ORICA-AIS ST
19 Mel Hoskins (Aus) - ORICA-AIS ST
35 Loes Gunnewijk (Ned) - ORICA-AIS ST
51 Amanda Spratt (Aus) - ORICA-AIS ST
59 Shara Gillow (Aus) - ORICA-AIS ST