Tour of Norway - Race Overview

2014 Liege-Bastogne-Liege winner Simon Gerrans finished strongly on the final stage of the Tour of Norway today, taking second on the day and sealing second on the general classification after a classy display of chivalry left the crowds applauding.

A crash in the final kilometres involved second place Edvald Boasson-Hagen (Dimension-Data). And Gerrans, at the head of the peloton took it upon himself to slow down the race and allow Boasson-Hagen the chance to get back into the peloton.

The gesture did not go unnoticed and the race duly came back together for a bunch sprint that was won by Boasson-Hagen who also took the overall victory with Gerrans a commendable second.

Consistent performances from ORICA-SCOTT over five days of competition saw Gerrans claim two third place finishes and fourth on the penultimate day whilst Rob Power held the best young riders white jersey for two stages before finishing second in the category at the close of competition.

“It was a strange stage,” said sport director Matt Wilson. “The course didn’t end up being as hard as we had anticipated and as a consequence the aggressive racing we had hoped for did not materialise until the final circuit in Oslo.”

Read the full final report here.

General Classification

Place Rider/Team Time
1 Edvald Boasson Hagen (NOR) - Dimension Data 21:39:20
2 Simon Gerrans (AUS) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:00:04
3 Pieter Weening (NED) - Roompot - Nederlandse Loterij 0:00:10
4 Sander Armee (BEL) - Lotto Soudal 0:00:16
5 August Jensen (NOR) - Team Coop 0:00:17
6 Patrick Bevin (NZL) - Cannondale-Drapac 0:00:24
7 Nicholas Schultz (AUS) - Caja Rural-Seguros RGA 0:00:27
8 Lawrence Warbasse (USA) - Aqua Blue Sport 0:00:27
9 Andreas Vangstad (NOR) - Team Sparebanken Sor 0:00:27
10 Tony Gallopin (FRA) - Lotto Soudal 0:00:27
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
2 Simon Gerrans (AUS) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:00:04
23 Robert Power (AUS) - ORICA-SCOTT 1:11
31 Jack Haig (AUS) - ORICA-SCOTT 4:35
53 Michael Albasini (SWI) - ORICA-SCOTT 12:56
86 Mitch Docker (AUS) - ORICA-SCOTT 25:42