Tour of Poland
Stage 1: Krakow - Krakow - Stage Details

Giro d’Italia stage winner Caleb Ewan sprinted to second place on today’s opening stage of the 2017 Tour of Poland.

A breakaway of four riders animated the day before finally being reeled back in as the race entered the final four kilometre finishing circuits in Krakow.

ORICA-SCOTT worked well to position Ewan towards the front of the peloton in the final kilometres as he launched out of the wheels and into second place behind the eventual winner Peter Sagan (Bora-Hansgrohe).

Sport director Dave McPartland was satisfied with the result in what was a close sprint and the first race back for Ewan in almost two months.

“We are happy with the result, of course would be more satisfied if we had taken the win today, that’s what we have come here for, but it is Caleb’s first race back in quite a while,” said McPartland. “We didn’t really make any errors today, I think it was simply down to a split second when Sagan jumped before Caleb.”

Read the full report here.


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Peter Sagan (SVK) - Bora-Hansgrohe 2:56:16
2 Caleb Ewan (AUS) - ORICA-SCOTT 2:56:16
3 Danny Van Poppel (NED) - Team Sky
4 Riccardo Minali (ITA) - Astana Pro Team
5 Nicollo Bonifazio (ITA) - Bahrain-Merida
6 Nathan Haas (AUS) - Dimension Data
7 Roberto Ferrari (ITA) - UAE-Emirates
8 Pawel Franczak (POL) - Poland
9 Boy Van Poppel (NED) - Trek-Segafredo
10 Jens Debusschere (BEL) - Lotto Soudal
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
2 Caleb Ewan (AUS) - ORICA-SCOTT 2:56:16
35 Jack Haig (AUS) - ORICA-SCOTT 2:56:16
72 Adam Yates (GBR) - ORICA-SCOTT 2:56:16
83 Robert Power (AUS) - ORICA-SCOTT 2:56:16
111 Ruben Plaza Molina (SPA) - ORICA-SCOTT 2:56:16
131 Luka Mezgec (Slo) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:01:09
139 Sam Bewley (NZL) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:02:24