Tour of Turkey - Race Overview

Neo-pro Adam Yates became the first British winner of the Tour of Turkey in Istanbul on Sunday. En route to victory in the 50th edition of the eight day Turkish tour, Yates scored his first professional win, soloing across the line on the stage six summit finish. The win allowed Yates to move to top of the general classification by 1” over Rein Taaramäe (Cofidis). Gapping Taaramäe at the finish on the final stage, Yates extended his lead to 5” by tour end. The 21-year-old is part of a hugely successful week for ORICA-GreenEDGE that includes six victories in the eight days.

“We came here racing for stages When you decide to race for stages in the mountains, you can go for the overall as long as you stay up there on the sprint stages. We weren’t targeting the overall but it came with targeting those two summit finishes. On the first mountain stage, Taaramäe was clearly the strongest. The key moment of our race was when I won the next mountain stage and took the jersey off him. On the stage that I did win, the guys kept me out of the wind all day. I arrived at the bottom of the climb fresh, which was really important. I can’t thank the team enough. Hopefully there is more like this to come.” - Adam Yates

General Classification

Place Rider/Team Time
1 Adam Yates (GBr) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 30:26:22
2 Rein Taaramae (Est) - Cofidis, Solutions Crédits 0:00:05
3 Romain Hardy (Fra) - Cofidis, Solutions Crédits 0:00:39
4 Davide Formolo (Ita) - Cannondale 0:00:40
5 Davide Rebellin (Ita) - CCC Polsat Polkowice 0:00:44
6 Juan Jose Cobo Acebo (Spa) - Torku Sekerspor 0:00:45
7 Kristijan Durasek (Cro) - Lampre-Merida ST
8 Luis Leon Sanchez Gil (Spa) - Caja Rural - Seguros RGA 0:00:51
9 Adam Hansen (Aus) - Lotto-Belisol Team 0:00:58
10 Enrico Barbin (Ita) - Bardiani CSF 0:01:04
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
1 Adam Yates (GBr) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 30:26:22
51 Leigh Howard (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:20:56
69 Damien Howson (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:30:47
103 Aidis Kruopis (Ltu) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:44:05
126 Jens Mouris (Ned) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:54:12