Tour of Turkey
Stage 6: Bodrum - Selcuk - Stage Details

Neo-pro Adam Yates scored his first professional victory in style on the Tour of Turkey stage six summit finish. The Briton crossed the finish line alone with a handful of seconds on a chase group that took shape in response to his stage-winning attack. Yates reached Selçuk with a 7” advantage over race leader Rein Taaramäe (Cofids) to move into the turquoise race leader’s jersey. The win is the fourth for ORICA-GreenEDGE in a hugely successful week that thus far includes three stage wins, one day in yellow at the Tour de Romandie and a monumental victory at Liège-Bastogne-Liège last Sunday.

Adam Hansen (Lotto Belisol) attacked inside the three kilometre mark. The reduced bunch upped the pace and brought him back into their fold. Valerio Conti (Lampre-Merida) was the next to jump away from the front group. Hansen countered Conti’s move. Just before the one kilometre mark, Yates launched his missive. He made it look easy as he rode away from the front group, past the rider ahead and into the lead alone. An isolated Taaramäe made a brave attempt to respond but could only limit his losses.

“I had planned to go around the one kilometre mark. That’s exactly what I did. There were a couple guys off at that point, and I used them as a springboard. That worked out quite well for me. I passed them all and held everyone off until the end.” - Adam Yates

“Of course we’re going to defend the jersey. For me, it seems the last two days are a big chance for a bunch sprint. A lot of sprint teams will want to go for the wins. There is one guy on 1” but the other riders are further back, so we have some space to breathe. We only have five guys left, but we’re strong enough to control it.” - Sport Director Laurenzo Lapage


Place Rider/Team Time
1 Adam Yates (GBr) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 4:11:46
2 Davide Formolo (Ita) - Cannondale 0:00:02
3 Davide Rebellin (Ita) - CCC Polsat Polkowice ST
4 Rein Taaramae (Est) - Cofidis, Solutions Crédits 0:00:07
5 Kristijan Durasek (Cro) - Lampre-Merida ST
6 Juan Jose Cobo Acebo (Spa) - Torku Sekerspor ST
7 Romain Hardy (Fra) - Cofidis, Solutions Crédits ST
8 Luis Leon Sanchez Gil (Spa) - Caja Rural - Seguros RGA 0:00:15
9 Adam Hansen (Aus) - Lotto-Belisol Team 0:00:17
10 Javier Megias Leal (Spa) - Team Novo Nordisk 0:00:26
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
1 Adam Yates (GBr) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 4:11:46
54 Leigh Howard (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:04:55
82 Aidis Kruopis (Ltu) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:10:07
84 Damien Howson (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
85 Jens Mouris (Ned) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST