Tre Valli Varesine - Race Overview

2018 Klasika Ordiaziako winner Rob Power animated the closing kilometres at the 98thedition of Tre Valli Varesine in Italy today, riding aggressively as Mitchelton-SCOTT tried to take the initiative in their ‘home’ race.

The addition of two new challenging finishing circuits set the tone in Varese with all the action coming over the closing 30kilometres and Power the instigator of repeated attacks that shut down the initial breakaway and sparked a fresh move that came close to making it.

After what initially what looked to be a disorganised chase started to gather momentum over the final climb, the effort from Power began to take its toll and despite his determination was caught by consecutive attacks coming from behind and carrying on into the last five kilometres.

Tom Skujins (Trek-Segafredo) sprinted to victory from a small group with Carlos Verona first over the line for Mitchelton-SCOTT.

Read the full report here.

Place Rider/Team Time
1 Toms Skujins (LAT) - Trek-Segafredo 04:55:41
2 Thibaut Pinot (FRA) - FDJ
3 Peter Kennaugh (GBR) - Bora-Hansgrohe
4 Michael Woods (CAN) - EF Education First-Drapac p/b Cannondale
5 Mathias Frank (SWI) - AG2R La Mondiale
6 Wilco Kelderman (NED) - Team Sunweb
7 Rigoberto Uran (COL) - EF Education First-Drapac p/b Cannondale 00:00:04
8 Julien Simon (FRA) - Cofidis, Solutions Credits 00:00:13
9 Giovanni Visconti (ITA) - Bahrain-Merida
10 Gianluca Brambilla (ITA) - Trek-Segafredo
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
38 Carlos Verona (SPA) - MITCHELTON-SCOTT 00:01:02
44 Rob Power (AUS) - MITCHELTON-SCOTT 00:01:06
71 Matteo Trentin (ITA) - MITCHELTON-SCOTT 00:05:42
81 Lucas Hamilton (AUS) - MITCHELTON-SCOTT 00:08:03
91 Robert Stannard (AUS) - MITCHELTON-SCOTT 00:10:18