Trofeo Alfredo Binda - Race Overview


Dutch time trial champion Annemiek van Vleuten sprinted to sixth place today in the third WorldTour event, Trofeo Alfredo Binda after an impressive and dominating performance from ORICA-SCOTT throughout the race.

Australian champion Katrin Garfoot launched a brave solo attack with just 12kilometres to go, with Van Vleuten finding herself in a seven rider chase group behind, a move which looked likely to stay away.

However, unlike in previous edition of the race the breakway group was unable to survive and the day concluded with a reduced bunch sprint won by Coryn Rivera (Team Sunweb), despite the team's relentless efforts, attacking and finding themselves in various solo moves.

“We wanted to have an aggressive style race,” sport director Gene Bates said. “To be honest we were really surprised for it to finish in a sprint, we expected a smaller group of five to ten riders like it usually is.”

Read the full report here.

Place Rider/Team Time
1 Coryn Rivera (USA) - Team Sunweb Women 3:25:26
2 Arlenis Sierra (CUB) - Astana Women's Team
3 Cecilie Uttrup Ludwig (DEN) - Cervelo Bigla Pro Cycling Team
4 Chantal Blaak (NED) - Boels Dolmans Cyclingteam 0:00:02
5 Elena Cecchini (ITA) - Canyon SRAM Racing
6 Annemiek Van Vleuten (NED) - Orica Scott Women 0:00:02
7 Eugenia Bujak (POL) - BTC City Ljubljana
8 Katarzyna Niewiadoma (POL) - WM3 Pro Cycling
9 Elisa Longo Borghini (ITA) - Wiggle High5
10 Ashleigh Moolman-Pasio (RSA) - Cervelo Bigla Pro Cycling Team
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
6 Annemiek Van Vleuten (NED) - Orica Scott Women 0:00:02
11 Katrin Garfoot (Aus) - Orica Scott Women 0:00:02
27 Amanda Spratt (Aus) - Orica Scott Women 0:00:12
62 Georgia Williams (NZl) - ORICA-SCOTT 0:08:12
75 Jessica Allen (Aus) - Orica Scott Women 0:09:36