Trofeo Alfredo Binda - Comune di Cittiglio - Race Overview

Former Tour of Flanders winner Annemiek Van Vleuten finished in a respectable eighth place today in Trofeo Alfredo Binda.

On the penultimate lap of the WorldTour race, eight riders broke free creating the race winning move. Lizzie Armitstead (Boels-Dolmans) took the race honours with Van Vleuten coming in just behind the leading group after a furious pace on the final lap.

Van Vleuten was pleased to make it into the front selection and in a position to go try for a win on the tough course.

"I felt really good and strong," explained Van Vleuten. "When I looked around the level in the group was really high, I was with a top group of climbers."

Read the full report here.

Place Rider/Team Time
1 Elizabeth Armitstead (GBR) - Boels Dolmans Cycling Team 3:11:10
2 Megan Guarnier (USA) - Boels Dolmans Cycling Team 0:00:01
3 Jolanda Neff (SWI) - Servetto Footon 0:00:04
4 Emma Johansson (SWE) - Wiggle High5 0:00:04
5 Alena Amialiusik (BLR) - Canyon-SRAM 0:00:04
6 Anna Van Der Breggen (NED) - Rabo Liv Women Cycling Team 0:00:04
7 Katarzyna Niewiadoma (POL) - Rabo Liv Women Cycling Team 0:00:11
8 Annemiek Van Vleuten (NED) - ORICA-AIS 0:00:39
9 Lauren Kitchen (AUS) - Hitec Products 0:01:06
10 Giorgia Bronzini (ITA) - Wiggle High5 0:01:06
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
8 Annemiek Van Vleuten (NED) - ORICA-AIS 0:00:39
16 Elizabeth Williams (AUS) - ORICA-AIS 0:01:06
24 Sarah Roy (AUS) - ORICA-AIS 0:01:06
25 Katrin Garfoot (AUS) - ORICA-AIS 0:01:06
51 Jip Van Den Bos (Ned) - Parkhotel Valkenburg ContinentaORICA-GreenEDGEl Team
80 Rachel Neylan (AUS) - ORICA-AIS 0:07:05