Vattenfall Cyclassics - Race Overview

Although a number of outcomes were possible at Germany’s only WorldTour event, a sprint finish was always the most likely conclusion in Hamburg. John Degenkolb (Argo-Shimano) scored big on home soil, timing his sprint perfectly to overtake compatriot André Greipel (Lotto Belisol) ahead of the line. Alexander Kristoff (Katusha) rounded out the podium.

“In the final, if it was a sprint, our plan was that Daryl [Impey] and Gossy [Matt Goss] would talk to each other to decide who was feeling better for the finish. They decided that Gossy was the man for the sprint today. Daryl did a really great lead-out as usual but at one moment Gossy lost Daryl’s wheel. He couldn’t make up the places, so we had no result in the end. It’s a little disappointing. The guys did a really good job up until that point, and they didn’t have anything to show for it.” - Sport Director Laurenzo Lapage

Place Rider/Team Time
1 John Degenkolb (Ger) - Team Argos - Shimano 5:45:16
2 André Greipel (Ger) - Lotto Belisol ST
3 Alexander Kristoff (Nor) - Katusha 0:00:01
4 Jose Joaquin Rojas Gil (Spa) - Movistar Team ST
5 Elia Viviani (Ita) - Cannondale Pro Cycling ST
6 Boy Van Poppel (Ned) - Vacansoleil-DCM ST
7 Nikolas Maes (Bel) - Omega Pharma - Quick Step ST
8 Thor Hushovd (Nor) - BMC Racing Team ST
9 Matti Breschel (Den) - Team Saxo-Tinkoff ST
10 Arnaud Demare (Fra) - FDJ ST
Place Mitchelton-SCOTT Riders Time
27 Matthew Harley Goss (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:00:03
39 Daryl Impey (RSA) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:00:05
40 Sebastian Langeveld (Ned) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST
51 Jens Keukeleire (Bel) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:00:08
122 Michael Albasini (Swi) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:02:27
134 Michael Hepburn (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:06:58
135 Jens Mouris (Ned) - ORICA-GreenEDGE 0:06:59
136 Brett Lancaster (Aus) - ORICA-GreenEDGE ST